Frank Marchetti

Guelph/Eramosa, Ontario, Canada

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 16 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Frank’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Italian; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 100, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • I own and operate a small business selling beneficial ins...
  • I have graduated from university but still claim that lif...
  • From Toronto, ON, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To be happy!


My goal is simple: to have a fun and rewarding life. I am not into the "rat race". I love to laugh! I like to do fun things and share time with others. I also have a serious side. I practice yoga. I am vegetarian. I try to be active in my community and do volunteer work. I LOVE to travel and do so every winter.


I try to live a peaceful, harmonious life (not always easy). I try to treat people like I like to be treated and always try to be friendly, respectful, and courteous. I try to live in a way that is sustainable in every aspect. I work to live, not the other way around.

All that is gold does not glitter, not all those who wander are lost.
J. R. R. Tolkien
Don't tell me how educated you are, tell me how much you traveled.
Perhaps travel cannot prevent bigotry, but by demonstrating that all people cry, laugh, eat, worry, and die, it can introduce the idea that if we try and understand each other, we may even become friends.
Maya Angelou

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I travel, I surf, I host. I eat with strangers and share smiles and laughter. In Guelph I attend and organize local events. On the road I sometimes attend weekly meet-ups and events. I attended my first Couch Crash in Detroit - it was awesome! I also share and learn in many CS groups.


Had a great experience surfing a couch in Tokyo. Had some great couchsurfers for a weekend - we had a blast! It was like having friends come over. Partied with a bunch of CSers at Nuit Blance 2007 in Toronto. Couchsurfed my way down to Phoenix, AZ, and had a brilliant time. Surfed a bunch of times in Chile and Argentina - awesome! Couchsurfed my way down to Miami Beach. Surfed a bunch of times in Borneo. Also China. Tunisia and Morocco. Paris. Taipei. Seoul. Most recently a bunch of places in Arizona and California on a bicycle tour. Would love to host more!
2007 Tokyo; US: Harrisburg (PA), Asheville (NC), Miami Beach
2008 Chile: Santiago, La Serena, Vina del Mar, Valparaiso, Temuco, Carahue, Puerto Varas, Puerto Montt; Argentina: Buenos Aires
2009 Tokyo
2010 Malaysia: Kudat, Kota Kinabalu, Sandakan; Brunei; China: Beijing, Suzhou, Shanghai
2011 Tunisia: Tunis, Kairouan, Sfax, Tozeur; Casablanca; Paris; NYC
2012 Taipei
2013 Seoul
2014 Arizona: Yuma, Casa Grande, Globe; California: San Diego, Bishop, Mammoth, San Francisco
2015 Taiwan

HOSTED: Canada, Ireland, Brazil, Portugal


I like to listen to diverse music. I enjoy watching movies, especially very creative ones. I am a bit of a frisbee playing addict, and play the related sport, Ultimate. I like to hang out with friends, and go to the park. I like picnics! I like to get out in to nature and walk around, or play in the water. I like to cook, and love eating great food. I like to play board games, like Settlers of Catan. I like to get a buzz from time to time. I like to ride my bike.

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite movies: Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Amelie, The Big Lebowski, Fight Club, I Heart Huckabees, Kolya, Run Lola Run.
Favorite bands: Radiohead, The Shins, Arcade Fire, Spoon, Phoenix, Wilco, Coldplay, U2, Jack Johnson Alt-J, Beck; many indie Canadian bands not well known out of Canada.
Favorite book: Siddhartha, by Herman Hesse. Also check out "Life of Pi", by Yann Martel.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I can't choose just one. So here is my top experiences list:
Hiking up a volcano in Indonesia to see the sunrise.
Making friends all over the world, and visiting some of them.
Great hiking/treking in Australia and New Zealand.
Worked as a roadie for U2 when they played in Christchurch, NZ.
Exploring Ankor Wat, Cambodia; and Bagan, Myanmar (Burma).
Rode my bicycle 4000 kms around Chile and Argentina.
Some amazing jungle trekking in Borneo (Pinnacles).
Visited amazing ancient sites (Egyptian, Roman, Arabic, and Berber) in northern Africa.

Teach, Learn, Share

People have said that I have a good way of teaching. I sometimes feel that I should have been a teacher. I am still a student of life, and love exploring and learning new things.
I could teach a few things about doing Yoga, or taking photos, or how to throw and catch a frisbee. I could also give some advice on traveling to some places i have been to already.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Great vegetarian food. Travel stories and advice. My time and a tour of my city. And I hope some laughs!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Tunisia, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany, Italy

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    18 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Frank’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups