Frances Ellis's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Frances’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Programme Officer for a Charity
  • Degree
  • From East Yorkshire
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm 25, from England and a graduate of the History, Literature and Culture of the Americas. At the minute I'm living in York (Northern England) working for a human rights charity. I spent most of 2016 living in Nicaragua as a volunteer Team Leader on an environmental and health project. I'm super excited to be going back there (and to Costa Rica) at Christmas to visit the host family that I lived with! In July I'm going to Borderland festival in Denmark, which is essentially Danish Burning Man. I'm really looking forward to it - I haven't been to Denmark before but I love the Danes! I'd be so happy if somebody would be willing to show me around or host my friend and I.

(Some parts of this bio are in Spanish as the last time I couchsurfed was in Spain! I'll leave it on there because why not).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've had some great experiences couchsurfing. I met up for coffee, dinner and drinks with CSers in Vietnam, Thailand, Nepal and Argentina. In Kathmandu I was very kindly taught how to tighten my own dreadlocks using a needle via couchsurfing. In Cordoba I made a great friend that I went back to visit after couchsurfing with him.

Interests

Reading, wine, photography! I like to make things- I'm learning to make dreamcatchers, natural beauty products and jewellery with string/metal. Nature!

Leyendo, vino, fotografía! Estoy aprendiendo a hacer atrapas sueños, productos naturales y joyas de hilo y metal! La naturaleza!

  • photography
  • cooking
  • wine
  • politics
  • nature
  • sustainability
  • veganism
  • latin america
  • psychedelics
  • sustainable living
  • enviroment

Music, Movies, and Books

Some of my favourite books are The Dharma Bums, Cat's Cradle, 1984, The Year of the Flood and A Thousand Splendid Suns. I love Latin American literature- Marquez and Borges are my favourites.

Electro, dub, reggae, all the classic British stuff, Latino

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I touched a penguin.

Toqué un pingüino :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to learn salsa and I need to practice my Spanish!! I can teach you English, how to make dreamcatchers and how to cook a good curry!

Querría aprender salsa y practicar español! Puedo enseñarte como hacer atrapas sueños y cocinar un curry. Tambien podría ayudarte con ingles!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Food, language, laughs

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, France, Germany, India, Italy, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Canada, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Frances’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups