Logo orange

Francisco Vargas

New York, NY, USA

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Francisco's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning German, Portuguese
  • 21, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Tech Strategy Consultant
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • From San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Living this brief life out to its fullest!

ABOUT ME

I hail from the relatively small yet magnificent island of Puerto Rico, and am currently residing in New York City. I'm definitely not shy, and love to meet new people, especially if you're from half way across the world! I also love trying new foods. Whenever I have a spare weekend I try all sorts of new places in the city.

Currently I'm a technology strategy consultant in NYC. I'm definitely up for showing you around if you're in the area. When I'm not working or hanging out with friends, I enjoy exploring every nook and cranny of the city.

In the end, I have a passion for traveling and getting as much exposure as I can to the outside world. Making friends from around the globe and creating awesome memories is what it's all about for me :)

PHILOSOPHY

I firmly believe in the golden rule of treating others as you would have them treat you ;)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've gone to several couchsurfing events in the Boston area when I was in college, and have also created some. I also created the MIT couchsurfing group for fellow MIT CS'ers.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've gone to several CS events, including in Boston and most recently in Brussels. They were a great way to get to know more Couchsurfers!

Interests

Currently I'm working in NYC. Outside of work, I also like to play classical piano, explore the city nightlife, and have been involved in a Cuban salsa dance group (love salsa!!!)

I like learning new languages, history, playing music, exploring my surroundings, and playing the occasional video game. I'd like to go camping/ hiking more often.

Music, Movies & Books

Music:
So I like many types of music. I'm big on alternative rock, 70s/80s/90s rock/grunge, R&B, reggae, latin (salsa, merengue, bachata, etc.) and classical music. I also listen to bossa nova, milongas, French music, etc. Sometimes I listen to techno, but not too often. There's many other genres of music I could include here but I'll spare the details.

Movies:
I love all the classics, like Star Wars, Casablanca, La Dolce Vita, the Godfather, the Indiana Jones Series, Back to the Future series, Alfred Hitchcock thrillers, etc. Relatively recent movies that I like include V for Vendetta, Inglourious Basterds, Slumdog Millionaire, Sherlock Holmes, Casanova, Titanic, Gattaca, the Avengers, etc.

Books:

El Alquimista by Coelho! Also many Spanish classics like Don Quijote, El Cid Campeador, El Capitan Alatriste, Cronica de una Muerte Anunciada, etc. I also loved the Kite Runner and a Thousand Splendid Suns, both by the same author. Another great book is La Sombra del Viento.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I would have to say climbing and successfully summiting Mount Kilimanjaro was one of the most amazing experiences I've ever had.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to teach Spanish, how to play the piano, and most importantly that being gay isn't a hindrance to forming meaningful friendships with people from cultures around the world.

What I Can Share With Hosts

My knowledge and love of NYC, time to hang out and try out new restaurants/sights, and Spanish (if you want)

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Botswana, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Dominica, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Portugal, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Tanzania, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Virgin Islands, U.S., Zambia

Countries I've Lived In

Puerto Rico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Francisco's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile