Franco De Rico's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 9 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Franco’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Italian
  • 23, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • Math teacher and Computer Science student
  • Pursuing a Master in Computer Science at Universidad Naci...
  • From Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi! I'm 22 years old and I'm from Rosario, Argentina.
I like math, sports, reading, playing, cooking, learning, chatting, and laughing.
If I were to find one word to describe me, I'd say I'm curious: I love to look around and get marveled with the nature and life that surrounds me; to raise my head and discover the charm of my own city, and the magic of the ones I visit.
I like playing and watching diverse sports (football, tennis, basketball and table tennis are the ones I enjoy the most). I'm a River Plate fan.
I love chatting and playing table and card games.
Math is a fundamental part of my life. I competed in the Math Olympiads for 9 years, and now I work as a teacher in the subject. I'm currently pursuing a Master in Computer Science at Universidad Nacional de Rosario, my city's university.
As a child, I had the opportunity to travel with my family, visiting my country far and wide. I also got to know Uruguay and Brazil.
Few years ago I had the chance to know Europe and got astonished by its history and beauty.
In 2022 I started traveling on my own, touring both the northwest and south sides of my country. Out there, I realised how important and interesting is to learn from other cultures, so I'm eager to know more about yours.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I think it's a great opportunity to exchange culture and points of view, and to know people from all around the world!

Interests

Your culture :)
Math, sports, playing and laughing.
To spend time talking, learning, and drinking mate 🧉 (the Argentinian non-alcoholic national drink).
Cooking and trying new recipes.
Reading anything that comes near me.
Overall, I love learning.

  • cooking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • sports
  • mathematics
  • philosophy
  • food
  • football
  • laughing
  • knowledge
  • learning
  • meeting new people
  • playing
  • cultural exchange
  • thinking
  • chatting

Music, Movies, and Books

Regarding music and theatre, my absolute favorites are Les Luthiers, an Argentinian group that combines informal and novel instruments made by themselves, together with the finest humor.
In more regular terms my tastes are a diverse mix of international and local bands as The Beatles, Lunecer, El Cuarteto de Nos, Charly García, Andrés Calamaro, Queen, Hans Zimmer, Carlos Gardel, Astor Piazzolla, Mercedes Sosa, Soledad Pastorutti, Johann Sebastian Bach, Antonio Vivaldi, U2, Abba, María Elena Walsh...

I love reading, when I have the time (which I had during my childhood!). Though I usually prefer books written in prose, I've grown reading the Argentinian most renowned comics, such as Mafalda, Patoruzú, Inodoro Pereyra, El Eternauta and Clemente. I'm also a huge fan of the French comic Astérix.
Three of my favorite books are Le Petit Prince, by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Pillars of the Earth, by Ken Follett, and Angels and Demons, by Dan Brown.
I enjoy fantasy books such as The Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter and The Wheel of Time.
I like Argentinian writer Roberto Fontanarrosa and Colombian Gabriel García Márquez.

In an eclectic taste on movies, I can say that I love Christopher Nolan's work. I also like Chazelle, Tarantino and Spielberg films. I'm a huge fan of the first eight Pixar movies. My favorites also include The Godfather, Matrix, Star Wars and Wallace and Gromit.

I'm also a big fan of the Argentine magician and illusionist René Lavand, who performed close-up card tricks despite having only one hand.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Classifying with my team to the Programming Olympiads (ICPC) World Finals! The event will be held in Egypt in November.
While traveling, the things that hit me the most were camping at the top of Cerro Catedral in Bariloche, and seeing El Hornocal in Humahuaca, two locations that belong to my country but are far from my home.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a math teacher in a public secondary school. I'm also a teaching assitant at my university.
I'm an avid learner and an autodidact. I'm constantly learning to cook, and think I'm very good at it! Be that as it may, I'm proud to admit that I'm the kind of person that eats dulce de leche in a spoon right out of the jar.
Though I don't play any instruments, I'd like to learn to play violin some day.
In my next travel I plan to visit many countries and, for personal growing, would like to learn some basics of each one's languages.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Chatting, culture, mates, playing, good cooking, interest in learning new things, and my vision of the world.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Czech Republic, England, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Turkey, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina

Join Couchsurfing to see Franco’s full profile.