Freebirdspirit's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 9% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Freebirdspirit’s full profile.

Overview

  • 23 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian; learning French, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Stewardess
  • No education listed
  • From Liguria, Italy
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello CSERS!!!
Welcome to my page.
I am from Italy, my name's GAIA (which means "cheerful", and probably that's the reason why I always try to enjoy my life to the fullest) and I'm 33.
I grew up in Recco, near Genova, in the beautiful Liguria region.
Portofino and Cinque Terre are the most visited and known ligurian destinations among tourists, but I definitely can tell you we have lots of other "hidden gems". I would be very pleased to show my favourite areas to you, whenever I am around!

I've been travelling and working abroad non-stop since 2010, enjoying every moment of my never-ending adventure.
I've lived in USA, Australia, UK and travelled extensively when not stable in one place.
I am currently in Costa Rica, isolated in the jungle, having a break from the outside world during this daaaaamn pandemic. Pura Vida!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I find it is the best way to meet other easy-going people with the same mindset and passion for travels.
I "surfed some couches" in Hawaii, New York, San Francisco, Orlando and met many CSers in other locations around the world.
I did host as well while in Italy and USA, I'd probably be more active as a host if I had my own place, but.. oh well, ONE DAY!

Interests

I bring my rollerblades wherever I go and I am very passionate about photography and watching wildlife in general.
I like to read for hours, research, constantly seeking for something new to learn everyday.
I like to write about my travels, experiences and I try to keep a journal when not too busy. It'll be so much fun to read in a decade or two...
I'm in love with the sea, one of the reasons why I work on yachts and my favourite part of it is the Atlantic or Pacific crossing : being free in the middle of the ocean is an experience beyond words.
I'm obviously a big fan of authentic Italian food, which sometimes I miss very hard, especially when I'm not able to find certain ingredients..I'm quite flexible anyway, can easily adapt to any kind of food except for very spicy stuff ;) (I know, many would disagree on this one)

*a photo is a piece of life and it's very closed to memory process (a photo recalls an event) and to travel ("remembering the past is a form of mental time travel; it frees us from the constraints of time and space and allows us to move freely along completely different dimensions*- Eric Kandel)

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to many types of music, from 60's/70's/80's/90's and more recents, depending on the situation and mood.
There is one genre that I truly enjoy dancing and it's tickling my brain when it pumps hard : psychedelic trance.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

visited 40 states (20%)

Teach, Learn, Share

I always like to learn. Sometimes I even like to teach...

Countries I’ve Visited

American Samoa, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Belize, Brazil, Cabo Verde, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, England, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Italy, Kiribati, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Panama, Peru, Pitcairn, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Saint Martin (French part), Samoa, San Marino, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Spain, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican City State, Virgin Islands, British

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Italy, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Freebirdspirit’s full profile.

My Groups