Malcolm Peñaranda's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Malcolm’s full profile.

Overview

  • 23 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning Italian, Portuguese
  • 49, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Linguist and Writer
  • MA in Applied Linguistics
  • From Medellín, Antioquia, Colombia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I am a very friendly person and I love meeting new people and showing them why we are called Paradise City. I am finding myself among my friends and telling the world how lucky I am to have them! All new friends are welcome!

ABOUT ME

I am a writer and a linguist. I have an MA in Applied Linguistics and I teach at two local universities. I like modern music, British, French, and American literature, world cultures, and traveling around the world. I like people who are frank and trustworthy. I speak English, Spanish and French and I understand Italian and Portuguese as well.
I am very open-minded and like to talk about everything. I'm also very honest and frank. I enjoy being with good friends and dislike those who are two-faced. I collect postcards and banknotes. I love traveling and learning about different cultures, music, and people. I also love helping people. If you are looking for a 100% guaranteed, unique, and fun Spanish or English course, talk to me.

PHILOSOPHY

The more you travel the more you learn.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host events, show couchsurfers around, help them when I can and host some of them.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
I had my first Couchsurfing experience in Austin, Texas and it was a very nice experience with a host from whom I learned and who totally welcomed me.
In our local group, I have organized and hosted many events so we get together very often and have lots of fun.
I have also been to Couchsurfing meetings in Las Vegas and Los Angeles.

Interests

Traveling, literature, music, people, culture, languages and spirituality.

  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • literature
  • theater
  • performing arts
  • street art
  • music festivals
  • italian food
  • beer
  • health clubs
  • clubbing
  • technology
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • live music
  • electronic music
  • opera
  • cultural studies
  • ecology
  • tourism
  • solo travel
  • tours
  • adventure travel
  • cultural immersion
  • travel
  • travelling
  • watching movies
  • cultures
  • techno music
  • theatre
  • different cultures
  • craft beer
  • techno
  • netflix
  • clubs
  • watching netflix
  • new technologies
  • networking
  • netflix and chill
  • open mind
  • creative writing
  • information technology
  • social networking
  • musical theatre
  • drinking beer
  • english literature
  • open minded people
  • night clubs

Music, Movies, and Books

Most movies except for too violent ones or those that do not have an interesting plot.
I like lots of different kinds of music from classical to hip-hop, rock or techno. I can't stand Mexican music, vallenato or depressive songs.
British, French and American literature.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I crossed Bolivia being totally clueless about that country. I've been to India, Tibet and China and learned a lot with the lamas.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have lots of things to teach and learn because of what I've lived and the places I've been to.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Getting together for coffee, showing you around. We can also go hiking, get to know the city landmarks, go clubbing, enjoy a good movie or just talk and get to know each other.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Aruba, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Cuba, Curaçao, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Finland, France, French Guiana, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Malta, Martinique, Monaco, Russian Federation, Virgin Islands, British

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Colombia, Czech Republic, England, Guatemala, Mexico, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, Spain, Switzerland, United States, Venezuela

Join Couchsurfing to see Malcolm’s full profile.

My Groups