Olga Romaskevich

Lyon, Rhône-Alpes, France

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Olga’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, French, Russian; learning German, Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • math PhD between Russia and France
  • Moscow State, NRU HSE, ENS Lyon
  • From Moscow, Russia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am Russian. I do math, geometry and dynamical systems (3rd year PhD student). My Dad wanted me to be a boy so he taught me how to drive a car, a bike, how to ski in Russian forest, and how to run fast. He tried to teach me multiplying matrices when I was in the 6th grade, it didn't work. There are things your parents wish you knew but they can't explain it well so you have to learn by yourself, after.

I moved to France a couple of years ago because I loved cheese and Camus. Still do. I dance tango because it gives me lots of emotions and the music is all around me. I climb because it feels great and I can forget math for sometime;). I play table tennis much better than you would expect me to because I played a lot of it when I was small at math summer schools.

Most of my time I think about art. I feel Van Gogh, Picasso, Lars von Trier, Frida, Virginia Woolf and Proust are my brothers and sisters. My friends think I am a snob. I stopped arguing with them about it. I even started to think I am a snob.
I love theatre because it's incredible and than it disappears. I love chocolate cake for the same reason. I prefer swimming in the swimming pool than in the ocean. I hope you got the idea of what kind of nerd I am.;) I am interested in psychology, and I read a lot of psychology books. I am interested in people because I am interested in their dreams and in their fears. I am interested in lots of things but if I have to define myself - it's just my dreams and my fears that count.

My favorite fruit is mango. My favorite animal is a bird, any bird. Pigeon is not a bird. My favourite time of the year is autumn in Italy. My favorite city is Paris and I know it well. But always want to know it better. My best friends live in US, Russia and France. Skype is my life. I love making pictures. Words are just a way to speak about images.

A. I want to give all of myself to the world.
B. I want to be incredibly happy.
Practicing A. and B. at the same time.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I met one of my best friends on Couchsurfing. I never hosted people but I stayed at some places, and it was always a wonderful experience. It's a great community.
I love discovering the city together with somebody.


love, happiness, smiling, humor, cinema, people, maths, classical music, impressionism, futurism, russian poetry, children, kindness, swimming, sport, beauty, mathematics(it goes always with beauty), gastronomy, my mother's dinners, thinking, strange things, strange people

Music, Movies, and Books

Amarcord, Chinatown, Mullholland Drive, Breaking the waves, Naked by Mike Leigh, Spirited Away, Andrey Roublev.

I ADORE CINEMA. If you - too, we can speak about it all the time, be ready!

Master and Marguerite, Alice in Wonderland, Anton Chekhov, À côté de chez Swann, To the lighthouse.

Dawn of Midi; Soledad Bravo; Buena Vista Social Club.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Me and my sister when we were young, collected Colorado potato beetles, put them in a jar and offered it to our Mum on her birthday. I'm strange.

Teach, Learn, Share

looking at pictures together
watching films together

Countries I’ve Visited

Belarus, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Poland, Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see Olga’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups