Eli and Liana Ren's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Eli and Liana’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 76 References 40 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 35, Other
  • Member since 2008
  • Interventionist / Anesthetist
  • No education listed
  • From Roanoke, VA / Albany, NY. We have both relocated repeatedly. .
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To play in the outdoors and to live spontaneously.

ABOUT ME

I have a lovely wife named Liana, and together we travel around, looking for new adventures. We also have a really nice dog named "Taro" and he generally goes where we go if we can help it.

PHILOSOPHY

Don't take life too seriously, you will never make it out alive.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We host, we surf, and we meet cool people. I have been couchsurfing for years, but Liana is new to couchsurfing and I look forward to showing her what it's all about. We are happy to host respectful surfers whenever we are in town. I would also be happy to point you in the right direction if we are not going to be around.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I joined couchsurfing in 2008 when I was living in Asheville, NC and was really active for a couple years. Various living situations prevented me from hosting for a while, but I am happy to again have a place to host. Liana is new to couchsurfing, but we look forward to traveling and hosting as much as we can.

Interests

Kayaking, caving, tall biking, hiking, camping, hashing (hash house harriers), photography, good movies, bad movies, good food, good beer, good wine, good company, building things, sustainable living, permaculture, hot tubs, breakdancing, anything scientific, being a nerd, and a plethora of other stuff.

  • dogs
  • photography
  • dining
  • wine
  • beer
  • instructor
  • movies
  • traveling
  • survival
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • spelunking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

Over 3 Terabytes of movies and music... A little bit of everything.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Too many to elaborate here, but I absolutely love extended self-support river trips.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a huge geek and love to learn about anything scientific or technical. I can make or fix just about anything, I'm well versed in Linux, a skilled photographer, and I can tell you just about anything you would want to know about most outdoors sports. At one point or another, I have been an instructor or guide for kayaking, canoing, mountain biking, rock climbing, caving, skiing, and backcountry survival. I am happy to teach people about what I know, but I am always interested in learning something I don't.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, Canada, Costa Rica, India, Kuwait, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Panama, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    9 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Eli and Liana’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups