Not Accepting Guests

  • 66% response rate
  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gabriel’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 17 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Portuguese, Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Doing research to understand the link btw climate and mos...
  • Fell in the scary world of engineering
  • From Toulouse, Languedoc-Roussillon-Midi-Pyrénées, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Surf in beautiful Martinique

ABOUT ME

I´m easy-going and I hate stress. I enjoy genuinely friendly people. I work to play sports and travel. I endeavour dedicating time to improve non academic skills. This is my approach to happy living. Sharing good moments with like-minded people is always a source of inspiration.

PHILOSOPHY

Each one teach one...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Sharing good experiences with couch surfers in my travels and in my traveling couch!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I first got exposed to CS through a friend who has been very active in the first years. Anytime I would visit him, I would dive in a multi-lingual living room! My first personal experience was during my travel to Australia, in Sept. 2008. Since then I have couch surfed in Grenoble, Orlando, Martinique. All have been fabulous experiences on many aspects! It's always like feeling home while you just land in a new place it's an awesome feeling that you don't get in backpackers or hotels.

Interests

Surfing, capoeira, salsa, football, skiing, hiking, canyoning, never say no to those ones... And I try to organize my trips around surfing and skiing most of the time. I love the outdoor and being in the nature. I also enjoy going to the cinema, with all the atmospere around it, specially those tiny ones where intellectual people go, which I am not... I'm also interested in languages. I wish to speak Arabic and Russian one day...

  • animals
  • fish
  • bachata
  • capoeira
  • movies
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • sports
  • soccer
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

- Diario de un motocicleta, Blindsight, Babel, L'auberge espagnole, 21 grams, la science des rêves...

- Salsa, cumbia, ska, reggae, Balkan music, rocksteady but also maloya,bossa nova, fado and french music of course!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My 3-week long scandinavian inter-rail (2003). At that time I would have loved to know about the CS project but it was not born yet. Hence, I camped into the wild and mostly hangout with wild animals :)

When I spent the night over on Comino (Malta) and jumped from 25 mtrs off cliff, barefeet aie (2003).. That was not very smart nor safe but I was 20 at that time, young and crazy.

Watched dolfins while surfing in Peru (2007). For a bit I wondered whether they were dolfins or sharks... This was my first encounter with the cute fish with the fin. Living in South-Africa I've learnt to cope with that feeear by now!

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach some salsa, bachata steps and also capoeira moves...

Ride a bicycle backwards (so cool no?)

Slackline :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Denmark, Dominica, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Malta, Martinique, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Réunion, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Martinique, Netherlands, South Africa, Sweden

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Gabriel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups