Gabriel van Oppen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gabriel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 34 references 23 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French, Italian, Spanish
  • 28, Other
  • Member since 2011
  • United Nations Development Programme
  • I guess I have some...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I want to find out the true identity of Batman, I think I may be getting closer...

ABOUT ME

Working at the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

PHILOSOPHY

don't be a comformist. Always try to push the limits, and leave your comfort zone, because once you travel and leave it, you will discover other ways of living and thinking.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have used CS a lot ever since I first used it when I was 18. I hosted many people during two years in Madrid. I always tried to make it a personal experience, which means I didn´t just give my guests a bed, but I searched to show them the city, the food, the nightlife....what I'd like to think is a full experience.

I have also been hosted in many countries, and I have never had any bad experience. Far from that, CS always made my travelling experience much better!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have experienced couchsurfing In both ways, both surfing and hosting. I have very probably hosted as much a I have surfed. I like having the feeling I am giving something back to the CS community. I have only had good experiences so far, and loved every single experience for a different reason. Let´s hope I can keep It that way!.

Interests

Well, obviously my passion is travelling. However, at the age of 18 I used CS for the first time to travel, and since then I discovered I like travelling the "difficult", "adventurous" and "cheap" way. I enjoy travelling using the oportunities our times offer us using CS, hitch-hiking, interrail and airbnb as much as possible.

Things I love: Soccer, Politics, animals, reading and learning languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I don´t really have a particular stlyle or genre of movie I enjoy more than other. If a movie is good, it is good. However, I do have to admit I am a huge fan of pretty much any film involving Leslie Nielsen.

Regarding Music, I like genres such as Metal, Hardcore or Punk-Rock, but the older I get, the more I realise that it is just about the situation and the vibe the artist/song gives you. You can't close yourself to any type of music!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Two of the things i feel the proudest of are related to Hitch Hiking and Couchsurfing. I did in two different summers two trips that I considered awesome:

1) Hitchhiking Italy (Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia and Montenegro) to Hungary

2) Hitchhiking from Germany (Poland, Lituania, Latvia, Estonia) to Finland

3) Hitchhiking from Turkey (Greece, Macedonia, Kosovo, Albania, Montenegro, Bosnia, Croatia, Slovenia) to Italy.

I saw Barcelona beat Madrid 2-6 in Santiago Bernabeu, believe me, for a Barcelona fan, that´s incredible!

Teach, Learn, Share

If there is anything I can share, it is a love for Politics, Music and Cinema.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Russian Federation, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Gabriel’s full profile.

My Groups