Gala Podgornik

Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gala’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Croatian, English, Greek (modern); learning Dutch, French
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • PhD student at Queen's University Belfast
  • Masters in Marine Biology
  • From Athens/Zagreb
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Impossible is nothing.


Open-minded, easygoing, enthusiastic, positive, spontaneous.


Impossible is nothing.

There is no way to happiness, happiness is the way.

Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the strength to overcome it.

One life, live it! :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I try to do as much as I can. If not host, at least give advice and share my own experience with other CS members. When in my hometowns, Zagreb or Athens, I gladly go out for drinks with CS members, if I can, regardless if I am the host or not.


I have met quite a few CS members on CS parties or while surfing myself in countries like the Czech Republic, Iceland, Serbia, Germany...


Biology,dance,traveling,sports, books, meeting different cultures and people with different backgrounds, good movies.

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: High Fidelity, Lion King, The Little Mermaid (probaly the strongest reason why I became a marine biologist :). Books: Harry Potter,His Dark Materials, good mystery books or thrillers, non-pink, non-lame drama books. Music - anything that touches my heart or groove at a certain moment.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Lots of stuff, as probably most CS members :) It's hard to pick just one thing, but among the top 5 favourite things that I've done, are: working with wild sea turtles in Athens, wild birds in Belgium, visiting Iceland.

Teach, Learn, Share

Would gladly share some facts on the environment, teach how to dance, teach some basic phrases in the languages I speak, share experiences on pretty much anything that I have done or places that I have visited. :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Macedonia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Croatia, Greece, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Gala’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups