Logo orange

Alexis Giard

Ostermundigen, Bern, Switzerland

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexis's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 50 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Spanish, Swiss German
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Trying to reach the stars
  • Petit Prince
  • From Lyon, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

A year ago I finished a world tour travel, trying to get back to france going east-ward with no plan in mind other than following the wind and see how it goes. And the wind took me to Switzerland (after completing the tour though ;) )

Now I live in a cosy appartement in Bern with my girlfriend, settling a bit and following other dreams. I came to really like the place I am and I want to use it as my forward base to explore the world and further. Yes further, the world is just a start!

I did apply to be one of the first colonist on Mars but they didn't take me, so I will have to hitchike a rocket to space instead. The ultimate hitch :)

And if I had to chose a quote to relfect my mind, that would be the following :

"All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible." T.E. Lawrence

PS : When travelling I use to say that I didn't care much about touristic places and so please take me around to your usual life. I will do just this for you if you are my guest :)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I traveled the world for a year from host to host. Through couchsurfing I wanted to discover people and to see the way they live. And I have been served, thank you CS Comunity.

Interests

Way to many, but the main one is wasting my time looking at the stars.

Here are a few others though : travelling, sailing, space, skiing, hiking, science, reading wikipedia, computer games, new technologies, endless debates, stars, narguile, reading, photography, music, playing music, prestidigitation, fantasy, sharing, ...

Music, Movies & Books

For musics, I have quite ecletic taste but I especially like rock, electronic and ethnical music in general. (Bob Dylan, Alela Diane, Tri Yann or Parov Stellar). I currently try to learn some celtic rythm on my violin.

As for movies I am a big fan of really bad movies, you know the one that they tried to make seriously but just missed the point (The Scorpion King, Moby Dick 2010...).

And finally for books, during a time I read all Fantasy and Science fiction books I could find around me. Now I have a broader interest in all kind of books and I love to discover new ones (Honor Harrington, The Black Company). I am close to finish the Mars Trilogy from K.S.Robinson, a masterpiece.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Picking up my bag and step out of the door.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have a PhD in water-pipe :)

I also play a bit of music, do a few card tricks and some other stuff... And I am always happy to share experience about adventures or latest space and technology info.

It will be a pleasure for me to show around the place I lives and give tips on the places I know.

But I want to learn everything you can teach me, your experiences, your knowledge :)

What I Can Share With Hosts

I have some skillz in cooking that I will be happy to make you try some taste from home. And I am a master of washing the dishes.

I bring with me night full of stories.

Countries I've Visited

Armenia, Cambodia, Greece, India, Iran, Islamic Republic of, Ireland, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Turkey

Countries I've Lived In

China, France, Mexico, Oman, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexis's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile