Ira Gel's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ira’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Russian, Ukrainian
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Student
  • Bachelor of Business Administration
  • From Kyiv, Ukraine
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

meet couch surfers from all over the world. finish school, get off my arse, and travel!

ABOUT ME

I'm in my final year of University, studying Operations&Supply Chain Management; secretly, I hope to go on and do many other unrelated things in my life, as befits my eclectic array of interests.

I love places with life in them - both cities and wilderness alike, though I have a distaste for suburbia or any place seemingly lacking spirit.
This why I am currently living downtown Toronto, arguably one of the busiest cities in my parent's chosen homeland.

Born in Kiev, Ukraine, I practice a very Ukrainian sort of hospitality. Beware: I may well insist that you try some of our home-made Borscht and finish off with a hearty doze of tea (something stronger if you are willing to play along.)

My favourite places in Toronto are: cafeeshops for reading and writing, the Maddie (our local renovated Victorian mansion, reborn as a pub), the Toronto Refrence Library, Cherry Beach, Snakes and Lattes (boardgame cafe), Guu Izakaya (Japanese pub and eatery, originally from Vancouver.

My favourite Toronto events: Doors Open Toronto, Nuit Blanche, TIFF (Toronto International Film Festival). Sorry, but nothing original here! Moving on-

PHILOSOPHY

Don't let life control you . Control your life. In my experience, this is easier said then done. I'm on a constant search for something to do next.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Though new to couch surfing per se, our couches have hosted many parties and many an overnight guest - both old friends and recently met backpackers. We love to show tourists around our beautiful city, introduce people to new friends, and make sure that our guests have a good time.

Interests

Discovering new places, seeing the sights, cooking and eating (beer&wine&cheese - mmm.... have you seen our bar fridge?), books, movies, video games, board games, history, philosophy, dancing (salsa, swing), entrepreneurship, debate. Anything in moderation. Planning to try: archery, sewing. Oh, and I play D&D.

  • writing
  • books
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • cheese
  • beer
  • partying
  • drinking
  • pub crawls
  • movies
  • video games
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • archery
  • business
  • cartography
  • entrepreneurship
  • history
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: anything you could dance to, anything with strings, retro french, italian, and russian music, world tunes, energetic indie music, instrumental, and movie soundtracks. I believe there should be a playlist for every activity and situation.

Movies: anything that makes me feel or think; Donnie Darko, the Prestige, Memento, Looper, documentaries. Frankly, I'm more of series kind of girl.

Books: Alright, so I don't get a lot of time to read; consequently, I prefer to enjoy the tested and proven kind of material. Recent favourites include the Song of Ice and Fire series, Sex on the Moon, and the Psychopath Test.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I will never forget the day I went on an innocent bike ride through a forest in rural Ukraine, only to stumble upon a lone house full of god-knows-who partying in the middle of this accursed place and half-ruined stone sheds labelled "careful: flammable". Finally, I rode up to a metal wall at the end of the road,fully equipped with guard towers and search lights - and was promptly chased out by two very angry, and very fast German Shepherds. Later, I discovered that the whole place is supposedly an 'abandoned' military base. It also looks like a six-pointed star on Google Maps. Check it out for yourself: http://goo.gl/maps/a3dWP

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach beginner salsa,how to make tasty Ukrainian food, and how to drink Vodka like a Russian. I also hold an eclectic collection of business knowledge, especially in the fields of finance, information systems and supply chain management.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cuba, France, Russian Federation, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Ukraine

Join Couchsurfing to see Ira’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups