Jamestown, Saint Helena, Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gelli’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Cartographer-ish, but actually, getting paid for doing as...
  • On occassions, yes. Mostly, no
  • From Home is where my rucksack is. Unless it's been stolen.
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


To finally come up with a mission, current or otherwise, which isn`t to come up with a current mission


You don't really want me to fill this in, do you? That probably isn't a good idea. It`s better to leave it for your own impressions. Anyhow, nobody ever really pays attention to the rubbish in here anyway, do they??? But if it helps, i`ve never been on an airplane in my life, and still travelled to maybe 90odd countries including some half way around the world. More than that, learn for yourself.


Hmmmm. Needs More Rope.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


An ever increasing number as a guest (in Bosnia [Srpska], Romania, Slovenia, Greece, Poland, Belgium, Denmark, Norway, Scotland, Sweden, Eire, Wales, Russia, England, Netherlands, Ireland, France, Lithuania, Thailand, Northern Ireland, Japan, Kenya, Zimbabwe, South Africa, South Korea, China, Canada, the US and Portugal amongst probably many more, and in most cases multiple hosts) and have also met a number as tour guides or for drinks/dinner etc as well (in the above countries plus Germany, Lao DPR, Macedonia and Vietnam). Virtually all have been great experiences. Made several very good friends. Only had a dozen or so guests, but i suppose thats my own fault for living somewhere obscure and unvisited and being mostly on the road and/or homeless. Have also tried chair surfing, and can say that trying to surf on a wheelie chair on a 4th floor balcony isn't really to be recommended...


I like Sheep.

Music, Movies, and Books

Very rarely; absolute sh1t loads; and wish i had more time for, respectively. I'm a huge sports nut as well

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Once, NTL customer service actually replied to a letter, and did something helpful after only 439 days. Yes, i do know how incredibly hard that is to believe. I've actually been trying to get it officially classed as a miracle for 2 years, but the RC church doesn't believe it ever happened. Absolutely incredible. And for the 98% of you who have no idea what i'm talking about here, you have no idea just how lucky you are! And, on a more conventional theme staying in an igloo, riding a camel in the desert, cycling up Mt. Ventoux (now thrice - I don't learn), driving a dog sled, camping in no mans land due to Soviet bureaucracy, getting arrested for smuggling narcotics and being a spy on entering Korea (simply because i had a bag of Liquorice), and getting arrested for suspected terrorism in London (because I had some maps); jumping from the roof of a speeding cambodian van to save my life; ending up in Iraq twice completely by accident, hitchhiking with a giant inflatable camel and on an Elephant (sadly not at the same time) and never having got on a plane in my life amongst many others.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cambodia, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libya, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malawi, Moldova, Monaco, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United States, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Liechtenstein, Netherlands, Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    14 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Gelli’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups