George Jones's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see George’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Russian
  • 23, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Student
  • Bachelors Degree, Languages, French and Russian
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

British Student, 22. Studying French and Russian at the University of Exeter.

I think that life has such a huge amount to offer; I love travelling so long as the people you meet are genuine and can show you the things they love about the place where they live, at the same time I love showing people around my hometown and the town in which I live.

I'm a huge rugby fan, an avid reader and an appreciator of all different types and genres of music. I could just as happily spend a day indoors listening to music, watching a film or reading as spend a week cycling or hiking through a beautful part of the world or going for some beers with some friends to catch up and meet new people.

My biggest ever adventure was driving a car around New Zealand with my best friend for 4 months, I met so many people and saw a huge amount of one of the most beautiful countries in the world.

My travel goal is to see the four corners of the globe; New Zealand (tick), Canada, Kamchatka and Patagonia.
Then obviously everything else inbetween!

For the rest of the summer I am planning on travelling through France meeting as many people as possible and speaking as much French as possible!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love the idea of the couch surfing community and think it's a great tool to help people get to see the world while meeting people who are apssionate about the place you are visiting.

I also feel that as a host, I know enough about the places where I've lived to show people a huge number of interesting and different aspects to these destinations. Plus there is nothing like being shown around by a local!

Interests

Sports, History, Nature, Travel

  • cooking
  • traveling
  • classical music
  • basketball
  • rugby
  • solo travel
  • food
  • cinema
  • travel literature
  • reading novels

Music, Movies, and Books

I will listen to almost any music, and while I have no real expertise on any sort of music I find that I still have some favourites; Fleetwood Mac - Man of the World, Otis Redding - These Arms of Mine, Metronomy - Heatbreaker, Ram Jam - Black Betty, Vaughan Williams - Lark Ascending

I've watched a huge number of movies, but still feel as if I have no real expertise other than that needed for pub quizzes; Incendies, Four Weddings and a Funeral, M*A*S*H

I'm no great reader, in fact that is something I'm tyring to work on; The Millienium Trilogy - Stieg Larsson, Harry Potter - J.K.Rowling, L'Étranger - Albert Cmaus, Fibber in the Heat - Miles Jupp

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

While in Caye Caulker, Belize I swam with a female manatee while she was feed on the reef, one of the most incredible experiences of my life.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have a passion for languages, so any place I travel to I make an effort to learn some of the language.

I also lvoe to help people to get to grips better with the English language, as I understand how much of a quandry it can seem from time to time!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love to cook, so would love to cook a meal for my host while I'm staying! My Specialities are: Chili Con Carne, BBQ Steak and fresh salads.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, El Salvador, England, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Indonesia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, France

Join Couchsurfing to see George’s full profile. It’s free!