George Durham's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see George’s full profile.

Overview

  • 23 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 56, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • writer/editor; ESL teacher
  • BA in Communications; and Ultrasound school
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

PHILOSOPHY

Be great with everyone. Not so easy but I intend it!

ABOUT ME

I'm very easy-going, quiet, not a big talker.

If you already have friends in Miami Beach and plan to spend a lot of time with them, please consider another CouchSurfing host.

Please also read the WHY section below and WHAT I CAN SHARE on the next page for my requests so we are on the same page before you request a stay. Thank you.

I prefer to host people who are not late-nighters. Please see my request in "My Interests."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I see and enjoy CS as exchanging good company, experience, perspectives, and culture with my guest. I prefer to share my apartment with someone who sees the opportunity that CS provides as similar. So, if you're looking to stay with me but spend all of your time with other CouchSurfers in town, I'm happy to recommend affordable hostels for you in Miami Beach please ask.

Of course you can and should hang with other people; just please listen to your intuition on what's proper and respectful. I like to share my home, my city, my time, and my self with the right Surfer. Hopefully you feel the same about your Host.

Also, I can only host one (1) guest at at time.

Interests

I'm not a late night person so I ask for you to be home and lights out by 11pm.

I love early happy hour drinks and hope we can do that together. Often. My work schedule is flexible.

I love my vintage Kawasaki motorcycle and like to give rides, a great perspective for you to see the town.

I don't like the sun so you may be on your own at the beach, but I sometimes can be coaxed there for an ocean swim late in the day.

  • writing
  • books
  • poetry
  • environment
  • partying
  • music
  • camping
  • sports
  • table tennis
  • badminton
  • tourism
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Moby to Kings of Leon to Amy Winehouse to The Who to Miles Davis to David Bowie to Sonic Youth, to Frank Sinatra to Johnny Cash, Paul Weller...I could go on.

Movies: anything Coen brothers, most of Sofia Coppola, anything Woody Allen, others but too many to mention.

Books: Jesus' Son by Denis Johnson, Haruki Murakami, anything by Jim Carroll, autobiographies and biographies, anything by Maggie Estep or Richard Hell.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In Morocco arriving by camel to sunrise over the Sahara Desert.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I know inexpensive and free things to do in Miami Beach.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Denmark, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Peru, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Costa Rica, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see George’s full profile.