Logo orange

Gerd Kieffer

Paris, Ile-de-France, France

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gerd's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 4 Positive References
  • Fluent in Danish, English; learning French, German
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Travelling... soon going back to stu...
  • Studying at the Danish School of Med...
  • From Horsens, Denmark
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Trying to get the most from it and to prosper from every encounter.

ABOUT ME

Most would say that I'm funny and make a good company both for parties and quiet evenings at home with board games, movies or just a bottle of wine.

Some find that I think too much and ask too many questions - must have something to do with my education as a journalist. (Which probably also makes me a good listener, I might add myself...)
These friends would probably also say, that I'm really good at meeting people and travelling in general.

Others might add that I'm stubborn and have a temper, and in general that I'm being very clear about, what I want and what I most certainly don't want. Luckily, they'd say with a grin, I've made improvements and I would never be cross with strangers.

And all would say that I'm a very decent and careful person, who always know where to find my things and never misses a deadline - and that I'm a good friend who is there for you and never forgets your birthday =)

PHILOSOPHY

Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery - but today is a gift, that's why we call it the present.

Interests

Travelling - meeting new people and cultures...
That's probably number one on my list. Currently Africa has conquered a big spot in my heart, and I can't wait for a possibility to go back, but also India and Nepal are favourite places.

Well, I study to be a journalist, but not a the News-kind-of-type, which I in general find pretty shallow - hopefully my education will allow me to travel some more and keep on meeting extraordinary people, that will surprise, shake and strengthen me with who and what they are.

I was an intern in the Danish Ministry of Foreign Affairs for one year, followed by half a year in West Africa on the Danish Embassies in Burkina Faso and Benin, and this internship has really widened both my knowledge and my perspective, and developed me personally and professionally.
And, off course, made my crush on the French language even bigger =)

I would very much like to settle down abroad later on.

Besides from all that: I read a lot, like to go to cultural events (in theatre, the movies, to concerts) and enjoy cooking, whenever I have people to cook for.

As much as I like chatting with people, I find that the moments where you're able to be silent with each other, each doing whatever and simply be, just as important.

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: I'm crazy about movies... And series too. I have a thing for french movies (Le grand bleu, Le Fabuleux Destin d'Amélie Poulain, Bleu-Blanc-Rouge), and I devour movies by Tim Burton and Baz Luhrman.

Music: Ah man, don't get me started. My taste in music is so damn wide...
But I never really found the meaning in dubstep - too slow to dance to. Still looking forward to learn to appreciate it though.

Books: Probably my favourite "waste" of time. I simply love to read and always have a book on my bed table. The themes spand wide...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

My first visit in India, spring 2007: I did yoga in the Himalayas, became a vegetarian, met with loneliness, saw the Dalai Lama and came home with weird bacteria in my stomach, a new view of the world, and a still growing love for India.

Being at the ocean in my family's summerhouse, with the wind blowing from the sea and the sun setting - it's the best place on earth, and it makes me feel so alive and present.

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Benin, Burkina Faso, China, Croatia, Egypt, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Nepal, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Benin, Burkina Faso, Denmark, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Gerd's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile