Gesine Jacobs's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gesine’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, German, Spanish; learning Spanish
  • 46, Female
  • Member since 2021
  • School Bus Special Needs Router and German Tutor
  • Some College
  • From Kaiserslautern, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

I love to travel and when I am not on the road, I am planning my next trips. Different cultures fascinate me and I am so glad I found this, because I know I can make someone's experience better and hopefully I can meet some locals when I travel myself. I am not the "sit-on the beach"-type person, I want to have experiences. In the summers you can find me camping and fishing here in Alaska's bountiful nature. There you can catch me reading a book, but it will probably be a non-fiction book, because I like history and language learning/ teaching.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Now that my children are adults, I am ready to have some adventure. I think one can only really experience a location when you know a local there, because who else know what the place has to offer. Alaska is an expensive destination, so hopefully I can help someone make their dream come true , who otherwise would not have the opportunity to do so. I am ready to share my tips and trick and steer everyone away from the tourist traps and help them find some hidden gems off the beaten path and save some cash. For me, maybe I will make a life-long connection with a new person, get some insights into the local culture and not be a standard tourist. I believe global human connections can change perspectives and in the end bring peace to this world.

Interests

  • camping
  • history
  • travel
  • language learning
  • travel planning
  • dip-netting

Music, Movies, and Books

My music taste is very eclectic, you probably will not find me listening to country or jazz though for longer periods of time. I never really had a good connection to movies. Most of the movies I watched where with my children when they were younger. I rather watch an episode of a show on Netflix, YouTube or the like.
I read more non-fiction than fiction, as I mentioned above. The fiction book that I really enjoyed was "The Alchemist" by Paulo Coelho, it has opened some eyes for me....

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Drove to Paris for lunch (from Germany).

Teach, Learn, Share

I think this is the essence of being evolved. We are able to pass on our knowledge and are able to receive wisdom through communication. Those who tech us something are the ones that make the most impact on our lives, good or bad. If we are not willing to learn life will leave us behind and we will have a very narrow spectrum of humanity. Without sharing, our species would never have survived and through sharing we create opportunities and "wealth" (emotional, psychological, physical) for those around us.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my experiences and stories from Germany, Alaska and my travels. I think of myself as a person with good humor and a positive outlook. I am clean and I strive for leaving a place cleaner than I found it.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Barbados, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, England, France, Italy, Mexico, Monaco, Poland, Puerto Rico, Romania, Saint Lucia, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Spain, Switzerland, Turks and Caicos Islands

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Gesine’s full profile.

My Groups