Logo orange

Daniel Gibbons

Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 60 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Italian, Spanish
  • 53, Male
  • Member since 2005
  • No occupation listed
  • no academic qulaifications
  • From sheffield
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to teach the world how to cook yorkshire pudding

ABOUT ME

I'm now in my early 50's.i am very comfortable in myself and who I am.Over 50 years on this planet, travel,and of course Couchsurfing have helped me achieve this

I think of myself as an easy going, friendly, good natured, self-educated, knowledgeable, well-rounded person with a broad range of interests.
i left school without any academic qualifications the teachers at the school i attended were not interested in motivating me i feel the education system failed me.
after leaving school i was in & out of jobs & spent 3 years unemployed.
life in northern england life in thatchers britain was not easy!

so to find work i had to leave the small mining village I was brought up in to make my way in the world, i was succesful then my life began to change!
the past 35 years have turned out to be very eventful! I think I have lived a lot, travelled a lot and seen a lot.to see how the uk & the world has changed in this time has been an incredible experience :)
My life has had many ups and downs but on balance has been enjoyable!

I take people as I find them, and bond very well with like minded people wherever they are from. Age is not a barrier with me, although I have found with some Couchsurfers unfortunately it is.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

In the past I have hosted many surfers, although at the moment regrettably it isn't possible. Instead I partipate by giving Couchsurfers visiting Sheffield my tour of the hidden stories behind the city, which they seem to enjoy.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Many, many experiences, both positive and negative, but never that bad... apart from the odd freeloader and Couchsurfers I simply didn't connect with.

Interests

Exercise is a big part of my life. I'm also very passionate about cooking... the UK has a bad reputation for food, so it is my aim to change that! In addition, I like to keep track of Latin Italian,Mediterranean & African culture. I'm trying to learn Italian which has been really difficult, but I am slowly progressing. I'm also into films, reading, music etc.

Music, Movies & Books

world documentries world & indie cimema (particularly Latin American films, I must have watched at least 100). I've read many books, but not so many lately.
Favourite authors include Irvine Welsh, Charles Bukowski and Peter Tinniswood.

Musically... (as i've been around for so long) the UK has gone through a lot of musical scenes. The ones that had the biggest impression on me were Northern Soul, punk, disco, new wave, mod, acid house etc, although there doesn't seem to be any interesting music scenes appearing now. I have also been into obscure disco over the last thirty years.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Without doubt the thrill of being in at the start of cultural movements (one fashion & one musical). In the early 80's I was prominent in the UK football casuals scene & later (in the late 80's) acid house.

In my opinion how my peers and I dressed back then changed men's fashions in the UK for ever. Now this casual style influences how football fans & male fashion in general,dress all over the world.

Before house music happened I'd been through lots of musical fads. The period that most shaped my life was when house music landed on these shores in 87: it coincided with the UK coming out of a recession so(for me)my life completely changed. It went from a time of hardship, unemployment,violence and strife to hedonism, joy and love.

Teach, Learn, Share

In my experience the sharing of cultures and interests is the most important thing that has happened to me! I used to feel british, now I feel like a citizen of the world.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Uruguay, Zambia

Countries I've Lived In

Italy, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile