Giedre Virbalaite's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 28 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Giedre’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 32 References 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Lithuanian; learning Portuguese, Russian
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • student of photojournalism
  • in communication
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Be happy, kind and learn.

ABOUT ME

www.instagram.com/pumpokas - I suppose not a very special instagram account, but a little of my world and what I do and see.

Pumpokas - is my childhood nickname, which I started to appreciate later in life. Given by my cousin, after I kept asking him to pump my little bike.

I do photography and have full time job in a completely different area. I mostly work, and try as much as I can to use my holidays wisely. Road tripping is the best way to relax and sometimes 1-2 days away on the road - feels like weeks off work.

I try to spend more time on reading books lately as thinking of masters degree in the near future - most likely sociology . I have bachelor degrees in journalism (Lithuania) and documentary photography and photojournalism (Cheltenham, UK). Didn’t go to any of my graduation - so I suppose masters degree is going to be the one I will be glad to collect and shake the hand of the rector.

I am Lithuanian and have been living in the UK for 7 years now, and counting further.

I love water sports, and really up to any sports which gets me out from being a couch potato.

I could go anywhere and find interesting things to photograph. Georgia 2012 was the place where I felt so grateful for people being so kind, America’ trip 2016 was when I felt extremely grateful for life and be able to travel. I usually travel not for places but for people I meet - either those are friends I visit, or total strangers - they make my trips memorable and warms my heart if I start feeling lonely being all the time on my own. I try to approach people myself and learning to get out of my comfort zone.

PHILOSOPHY

Don't stay too long where you feel too well. Always 'on a move'.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Surf and host. And travel around and spread the news, only good ones so far.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

CS is like hitch-hiking - you never know what kind of people you will meet - most of them make your day.
I am so happy that I have tried that and got involved in from the first minute. I love meeting new people - they change my attitude to the life, future, world, music - I find what I am looking for - the diversity in every step I am taking.

Interests

learning

  • photography
  • education
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • hitchhiking
  • watching movies
  • local history
  • paddleboarding
  • caligraphy
  • hitchhiking,

Music, Movies, and Books

Diversity in music (any kind of folk, mostly indie folk), movies (with good soundtracks), books - The little prince, The Catcher in The Rye, John Irving's stuff, Erich Fromm, Astrid Lingrend, Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury, One flew over the Cuckoo's Nest by Ken Kesey.

Any movie, music or book which shakes my world.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbing in Montserrat, hitch hiking in Georgia, couchsurfing in Venice and photographing in fish market at night. Hitchhiking to Warsaw after deciding a day before.

Working at the bar during jazz festival - and listening to music and observing people. One of the best memories from my student life.

Meeting each of a kindest person. My God is Love.

Teach, Learn, Share

Could teach some Lithuanian and keep a company if need to talk to about something. Photograph. Have a laugh.

Learn Italian, practice Russian. Learn about music, books, philosophy and psychology, relations, religion. I want to experience how diverse life can be. I want to grow fearless of whatever is coming. Especially to be fearless of people and new places. I wish I would never feel lonely, but I don’t mind being on my own either.

I would love to learn to play piano. My childhood dream. And also - dancing - a hidden talent haha I hope...

I am also pursuing calligraphy, suck at it at the moment, but remember the Groundhog day - everything takes time - one step at a time.

I will share my time, food and drink. I am more than happy to host and help someone, want to give back as much as I can, as I have received over the years more than ever expected - kindness of total strangers.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A smile, positive vibes and my time, compassion and kindness. I can cook something Lithuanian, talk about movies, photography, travels, laugh, listen to music. Photograph. I could go for a dance as I love dancing very very much!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, France, Georgia, Germany, Hong Kong, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Georgia, Lithuania, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Giedre’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups