Gill Grose's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 80% response rate
  • Last login about 8 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gill’s full profile.

Overview

  • 71 references 48 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Italian
  • 70, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Volunteer librarian at primary school
  • BA degree in English and Classics, life long learning
  • From Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

New experiences and more travel

ABOUT ME

I am a 68 year old widow sharing a house with one of my two sons. I love having visitors, (NO UNDER 40's!) showing them the best of Cape Town and talking about all the places we have travelled.

PHILOSOPHY

Do as you would be done by

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Couchsurfing for me is not about simply staying or hosting somewhere for free, it is about engaging with interesting people who I would not otherwise have the chance to meet and having company to explore new places or revisit old favourites. PLEASE NOTE I PREFER TO HOST OLDER COUCHSURFERS. UNDER FORTIES WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED UNLESS PART OF A FAMILY!!!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Have hosted and surfed through CS since Jan 2014 but have had many people to stay over the years.

Interests

Travel, Reading, movies, theatre, art, volunteering, Geocaching, Postcrossing, TED talks, maps, trees, history, lectures, politics, food. I do Parkrun, volunteer at UCT Summer School, in fact anything involving a fixed time and lots of people.

  • arts
  • dining
  • walking
  • politics
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • history
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Passionate about books and bookshops, like to keep up to date. Loved "Cloud Atlas", Half of a Yellow Sun", "The Goldfinch", "The Mandibles 2029-2045", "Fever" by Deon Meyer, "Guns, Germs and Steel", "Sapiens", "A Gentleman in Moscow", lots of history.
Collect good children's books for my school.
Love independent movies, BBC, newspapers, Time, Economist. Listen to classical and sixties music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have travelled to all seven continents, climbed Kilimanjaro, run a half marathon, cycled 600 kilometres from George to Cape Town, studied Italian in Perugia, cooked for 250 people, crossed the USA on Greyhound buses, attended 6 Afrika Burns, given a talk at TEDX Cape Town 2018.

Teach, Learn, Share

Would like to share my Cape Town with visitors and learn about their own life experiences. Share travel tips, books, recipes.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Beds, food, advice, an interested ear for their stories, help with travel logistics.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antarctica, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Botswana, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lesotho, Lithuania, Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Poland, Russian Federation, Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Gill’s full profile.

My Groups