Gilles Thériault

Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gilles’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Translator
  • B.A. (Translation), B.Sc. (Physiotherapy)
  • From Nouvelle, Québec, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Live a fully satisfying life!


I am an easy-going guy, grateful for what life is bringing me. I have a husband that I love (same-sex marriage is legal in Canada), very good friends, good relationships with the members of my family, a cozy house, and an excellent job. I am mostly an early bird and I enjoy outdoor activities.

I grew up in the Gaspé peninsula, a rural area in Eastern Quebec. I have also lived in the beautiful Québec City for about 14 years. That is where I did my studies and met Dominique. We moved to the Gatineau-Ottawa region together in 2000.

I am a former physiotherapist now working as a translator at the Canadian Institutes of Health Research.


Try to do better in the future but never have regrets!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I use CouchSurfing to prepare trips. I contact people who answer questions. I also met good friends through the system in Brazil, Costa Rica and Ottawa.

I hosted a few times and it was extremely positive experiences. I was hosted by a Tico (Costarican) who is now a true friend.


Music, languages, biking, yoga, running, hiking, swimming, skating, skiing, movies, reading, global issues (politics, environment, health), meeting friends, good meals

Music, Movies, and Books

Mostly international movies and music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A little anecdote... I was born 100 years minus 1 day after Mahatma Gandhi, which makes us numerical twins! I do not give credit to numerology but I just like to think I have a little something in common with that great man.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love learning and teaching languages. I would like to learn as many languages as I can in my lifetime. I also used to be a Pilates instructor.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Italy, Jamaica, Morocco, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Gilles’s full profile. It’s free!