Logo orange

Gina Granat

Msida, Malta

Wants to Meet Up

Last login 32 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gina's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 90 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Finnish, Hungarian; learning Spanish
  • 34, Other
  • Member since 2010
  • Accountant/Conference&Banqueting Man...
  • College
  • From Finland and Hungary
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To travel all around the world and help fellow travellers when we are at home.
We have just finished our 8-month honeymoon around Nepal, Australia, New Zealand, Thailand, Myanmar and Cambodia. Check out the blog: www.sillavalinmaailmalla.blogspot.com
We have just relocated to Malta so our goals are to find jobs and settle in. Soon to resume hosting.

ABOUT ME

We are a Finnish/Hungarian couple who have been living in several countries (England, Ireland, Thailand, Spain, Gibraltar) and always tried to do as much traveling as we can with our time and money. We enjoy getting to know different cultures and people as well as foods from different countries.
We like adventures and we like to explore new things all the time. We also enjoy walks on the beach, reading, cooking and sometimes going out for drinks or a meal or inviting friends over for a bbq.

PHILOSOPHY

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We used to live in the southern tip of Spain, very close to the Gibraltarian border. We have lived in this area for six years and were hosting regularly for four years. We are planning to resume hosting soon in Malta.
When we travel we like to surf as well because that way we get a better idea about the locals' life and culture.
“Tourists don’t know where they’ve been, travelers don’t know where they’re going.” – Paul Theroux - We would definitely like to call ourselves travelers, and Couchsurfing for us is part of that!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We have HOSTED in our home in Spain:
Kyono and Naori: Japan
David and Kevin: Belgium
Clara: Germany
Allison: USA
Miguel and Andre: Portugal
Magda: Romania
Samuel: Switzerland
Lena: Russia
Tomi: Finland
Francesco: Italy
Razvan: Romania
Maxime: Belgium
Aylin: Turkey
Dominic: New Zealand
Olga & Alina: Russia
Bruno & Alessandra: Brazil
Vasily & Marina: Russia
Leandro & Fernando: USA
Almut & Anke: Germany
Stefano: Italy
Michal and Sylwia: Poland
Levente and Zsofi: Hungary
Daniela and Anja: Germany
Michal and Michalina: Poland
Vincent and Vivian: France
Csaba: Hungary
Ben and Kjel: Belgium
Pierre: Belgium
Nick: Greece
Helga and Gabi: Austria
Cecilia: Switzerland
Kaithlyn and Andrew: USA
Julia: Germany
Angel: Spain
Marvin: Germany
Piotr and Amalia: Poland
Peter and Adam: Hungary
Eric: USA
Klara and Peter: Hungary
Csaba and Tamas: Hungary
Szymon: Poland
Jordan: USA
Carl and Ebba: Sweden x2
Jeremy and Nicola: France
Anna: Hungary
Jeff: Canada
Annika: USA
John: USA
Karol: Poland
Vanessa and Dana: Germany
Madalina: Romania
Adam: Hungary
Jason: USA
Ferenc: Hungary

We have SURFED:
Alina's in Moscow (Russia)
Alen's in Omsk (Russia)
Artur's in Irkutsk (Russia)
Jessica's in Guangzhou (China)
Magda's and Samuel's in Rabat (Morocco)
Sara's in Madrid x2 times (Spain)
Nick's in Geneva (Switzerland)
Marco's in Zurich (Switzerland)
Sam's in Bern (Switzerland)
Ashley's in New York City (USA)
Dana's in Washington DC (USA)
Freddy's in BSB (Brunei)
Torill's in Oslo, (Norway)
Almut's in Hamburg (Germany)
Fynn's in Berlin (Germany)
Tristan's in London (England)
Rossman's in Sydney (Australia) x2
Derren's in Alice Springs (Australia)
Greg's in Darwin (Australia)
Adriana's and Kelly's in Townsville (Australia)
Luke's in Mackay (Australia)
Ahmed's in Hervey Bay (Australia)
Jody's and Mike's in Brisbane (Australia)
Wonz's in Brisbane (Australia)
Jen's in Hobart (Australia)
Andrew's in Hobart (Australia)
Anuj's in Melbourne (Australia)
Carl's in Melbourne (Australia)
Alice's in Torquay (Australia)
Jess' in Apollo Bay (Australia)
Jude's in Ballarat (Australia)
Hamish's in Auckland (New Zealand)
Marcus's and Alice's in Kihikihi (New Zealand)
Lee's in Rotorua (New Zealand)
Zoran's in Taupo (New Zealand)
Ross's and Terry's in Wellington (New Zealand)
Peter's in Christchurch (New Zealand)

Interests

Traveling - of course:)
Anything outdoors and adventure related. Hikes (especially to summits) and walks, kayaking, barefoot running, yoga, gym, healthy (mainly vegetarian and vegan) cooking, reading. Gina is into photography. She is novice but very enthusiastic :)

Music, Movies & Books

Pedro Almodovar movies. Documentaries (nature and travel) especially National Geographic.
Medical series and books (House, Robin Cook). We are fans of the Dexter series. Thriller, drama and adventure books(Leslie L Lawrence).
Music: Reggaeton and Carribean music

One Amazing Thing I've Done

1.Swimming with sharks and sea-lions on Galapagos islands
2.Taking the trans-Mongolian train from Helsinki to Hong Kong.
3. Climbing Mount Toubkal - the highest peak in North Africa!
4. Seeing Mamma Mia on Broadway - our best theater experience ever!
5. Climbing Mount Kinabalu (highest peak in South East Asia)
6. Seeing Mount Everest from a mountain flight in Nepal

Teach, Learn, Share

Life is constant learning! We are always open to learn about new things, possibilities and ideas.
We would be happy to learn more about mountaineering, climbing, hiking and other outdoors sports. Gina is also interested in photography.
Food and drinks of other countries. And of course travel experience exchange:)

What I Can Share With Hosts

We try to always bring a small present from our home country or from along the way. Just a little gesture to show that we appreciate the hosts accepting us.
We also like to cook for the host and spend some time together. Of course exchanging travel stories and experiences.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Belgium, Bolivia, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Finland, Gibraltar, Hungary, Ireland, Malta, Spain, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Gina's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile