Logo orange

Will's Groups

Will Bann

Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Will's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 19 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Student, Film maker
  • Currently taking a year out from a d...
  • From York, England
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To enjoy the Berlin sun

ABOUT ME

I'm currently taking 2 years out from my Film and Media Production degree in England. I am living in Friedrichshain in Berlin.

I spend my time watching and making films and working. I teach English to kids in Austria and I also work for Berlitz English Camps.

PHILOSOPHY

Coming to Berlin was a total change in my life and I'm currently making a point of trying new things and just making the most of my time here..

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Although I don't have a couch available at the moment I tend to turn up and most meetups and other things. I also host fairly regular Film Nights at my apartment and organise other film related things.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've only been a member of CS since September but so far it's been pretty amazing, the Sheffield guys are awesome and the Berlin are just as great but vastly more numerous.

Interests

Films are my main interest. I love watching and talking about films but my real passion is Film Making. I enjoy making and editing short films and am always up for the opportunity to do so.

I also enjoy Photography but I'm not really that great at it, I just like wandering around and snapping photos. At some point I want to buy a Digital SLR camera but at the moment, I don't really have the time or money for one.

Like a true Englishman I love playing cricket and I really enjoy teaching the rules to people. At some point I'll pop back to England to buy my own bat.

I have a very varied and eclectic taste in music, I tend to enjoy quite random music that most people haven't heard of. But I also really like Indie, Jazz, Blues, Funk, Electronic, Tip Hop

Beer: Proper good European ales and lagers like Hoegaarden or Leffe. The Showroom and The Devonshire Cat in Sheffield both have a good selection (Dev Cat has a beer menu).

Music, Movies & Books

Ah, films. So many good films to see. My favourite films are probably; The Worlds Fastest Indian, Pan's Labyrinth, Le Fabuleux Destin d'Amélie Poulain, Belleville Rendez-Vous, Sin City, The Pianist, A Scanner Darkly and A Fistful of Dollars, Apocalypse Now Redux.

---

I'm pretty open to listening to most genres of music. One of the great things about uni is the sharing of music.

Fav Music: Slagsmålsklubben, Crystal Castles, Does It Offend You, Yeah?, Venetian Snares, Whitey, Boards of Canada, Amon Tobin

Indie: The Young Knives, Arctic Monkeys, Milburn, Little Man Tate, Boy Kill Boy, Maximo Park, Klaxons, Arcade Fire, White Rose Movement, Kaiser Chiefs (I'm currently loving their new album).

Jazz: St. Germain, Billie Holiday, Louis Armstrong, Lionel Hampton

Funk: James Brow, Funkadelic, Breakestra, Quantic, Quantic Soul Orchestra, Maceo Parker.

Other: Gotye, Mr. Scruff, The Cat Empire, Roots Manuva, RJD2, Portishead.

---

Too many to list, if its British comedy, good American comedy, Sci-Fi, some drama then I'll probably like it, or if its like any of the following; Family Guy, Black Books, Scrubs, Spaced, Rome, Have I Got News For You, Never Mind the Buzzcocks, QI, Farscape.

Countries I've Visited

Italy

Countries I've Lived In

United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Will's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile