Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 10 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jane’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 19 References 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Spanish
  • 62, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Retired. Worked as a fisheries economist, computer traine...
  • MA Economics, BS Economics, BA Sociology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Currently moving and can't host; looking for couches while traveling.

ABOUT ME

I have lived in Juneau, Alaska for 31 years. This is where my two children were born and raised. I am a recent widow--my husband died of cancer in March 2011. I have found a new partner to share my life. I have volunteered with AFS exchange students for many years and enjoy meeting people from around the world. I am active in the community and enjoy the arts, outdoor activities, hiking, and reading.

PHILOSOPHY

Liberal

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I would like to host occasional travelers and find couches while I am traveling.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted folks in Juneau and had a blast! Looking forward to "surfing" when I travel.

Interests

AFS exchange students, Girl Scouts, liberal Methodist religion, volunteering.

  • arts
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • religion
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

I like to follow a "theme" on reading and movies. I've focussed on Turkey, Argentina, Guatemala, Central America and Ecuador in preparation for my trips there. Now I'm reading about Mexico and the Americas.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiking the Chilkoot Trail with my Girl Scout troop when the girls were 11 and 12 years old. Thirty-three miles over a strenuous trail for five days.

I walked the Camino Norte as part of the Camino de Santiago in the spring of 2015.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bermuda, Canada, Costa Rica, Denmark, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, Guatemala, Iceland, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Saint Martin (French part), Scotland, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Costa Rica, Italy, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jane’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups