Gyuri Mészáros

Budapest, Budapest, Hungary

Not Accepting Guests

  • 33% response rate
  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gyuri’s full profile. It’s free!


  • I am a teacher and a researcher at a University. (Pedagog...
  • PhD. (my last degree :)!
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Knowing this world better and knowing myself better!


Hi, I am an open minded person. Like travelling, knowing new places and persons. I like my job: teacher and researcher. I am always and everywhere a researcher... :)


As I wrote I am a researcher: in a wide sense. I would like to know places, cultures, people, and to raise questions! I like asking. I teach my students also not to have an answer too early but to learn asking, raising questions inside. Justice is one of the most important thing for me. I would like to fight for a better world, where oppression will be defeated, and human rights respected totally. I fight for that cause with my teaching, with NGO activities, but with my research activities too. Being an "asker", a researcher is a way to contribute to the construction of a better world. I am a committed cristian man, but I respect all kinds of beliefs. I am gay and out, and I work for equality for LGBTQ people in my country.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I am travelling now, so I can't host, but I always use couchsurfing while I am travelling...

I think it's a great idea! I am now a verified member, and I would like to know loads of people and places, and help the others to know my country!


Really a great experience. It is a unique opportunity to know intersting people, to communicate, and to see the world even if you are not rich :)


Literature, films, travelling.
David Lynch, Lars von Trier are my favorite ones, but I like a lot of other directors, too.

Music, Movies, and Books

Classical music, world music, Irish music, electronic music (goa, break-beat, trance)...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One of my most amazing experience was walking on the cliffs of Moher in Ireland. :)
It was wonderful to swim in the sea in Dubai right before Christmass :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I teach pedagogy at a university, but I am a Hungarian language and literature teacher also. I can teach Italian too :)
I would like to learn anything about other cultures.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My experiences... :) I have travelled a lot, I read a lot, I thought a lot, I meditated, I meet a lot of people, I have had a unique life so far (with some really big turns and changes)...

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Israel, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Netherlands, Norway, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Hungary, Italy

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    5 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Gyuri’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups