Giovanni Tonucci's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 95% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Giovanni’s full profile.

Overview

  • 69 references 41 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Italian, Spanish, Turkish; learning Arabic, Kurdish, Persian (Farsi)
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Workawayer: Lotus Garden hostel in İzmir, Chillsteps host...
  • Technical Agriculture school, UNICAM and İstanbul Univers...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Good people, good times

Solo backpacker, cultural exchange and party planner, freestyle dancer.

Gen-Feb'22 currently in Georgia, volunteering at Dingo and Bao hostels in Kutaisi, planning a long adventurous trip around the country, İran, back to Turkey, Spain, Morocco, Egypt and more later. Open to find travel buddies, volunteer and work opportunities! I've recently started to visit places, go camping, share hosts and hostels, have great experiences and hitchhike together with souls who found me on "travelers" section, so feel free to send me a message!

Look at my pictures to discover how I spent this A M A Z I N G year.
You can ask for advices about İzmir -you might be added to the biggest expat/local group to learn languages and go partying- and İstanbul, both where i used to live, travel and volunteer, also about any other part of this country where i was around for a year and a half.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

#KimseSokaktaKalmasın - don't leave anyone in the street.

This is what they teach in Turkey, where more than 80 different people hosted me along 10 months. As long as I'll be available, I'll host or help you find a host.
It has become a lifestyle. Meet-up here, event there tonight, hangouts tomorrow, new host tomorrow night. And so on.
Last summer, my CouchSurfing inbox looked pretty busy. I couldn't believe that adding 10 public trips would have created so many interactions. This is what i advice travelers who send hospitality requests: set "public trips" on, in order to be invited to stay, meet-up or even travel together! Always be detailed and positive.

We should be hospitable like in some countries, where you just walk and get invited by locals.

Interests

Actually changing my interests, after 4 months in the best city of the world: İstanbul.
Becoming a traveler, starting from Turkey!

  • festivals
  • nightlife
  • partying
  • electronic music
  • backpacking
  • sociology
  • solo travel
  • adventure travel
  • underground culture
  • learning languages
  • storytelling
  • teaching languages
  • hip hop
  • ecovillages
  • workaway
  • drum and bass
  • dubstep
  • freestyle
  • hitchiking
  • bass music
  • cultural exchanges
  • writing stories
  • party planning
  • big city life
  • social media management
  • workandtravel
  • camping trips
  • volunteer work/community involvement
  • hostel life

Music, Movies, and Books

İt may be late to write that i'm addicted to bass music (electronic part) and oldschool hip hop, so let's discover every kind of genre. Please let me listen yours and take me to clubs, pubs, festivals. Or just to dance in the streets.

Books of contemporary history. I always forget my books somewhere, so if i won't, you will have one of them!

Movies make me sleep, i need to go out. Or we can watch them outside.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travelled 10 months all around Turkey without turning any engine on, cleaned-up one or more beaches on each sea i've visited, volunteered 3 months in the main hostel of İzmir, been at a Rainbow gathering, been hosted by 10 different people along 12 days in the same city (Van).

Teach, Learn, Share

One day, i'll write a long list of skills here. At the moment, i can teach you:
english, a bit of french, spanish and turkish;
how to start and run a simple but impactant travelling social media project - as a content creator
how to plan a cultural exchange or an event - as i used to be president of the only association in my faculty for 3 years

and how to escape from standard studying/working life, that's what i've been doing since june 2020.

Learning: i remind of people for what skill or philosophy i've been learning from them, so feel free of teaching me some stuff :)

Can't actually remind the last chance of not sharing i had

What I Can Share with Hosts

Culture, music, food. Just ask.
As i've started to meet hosts, i can say that a good nightlife is what i need, some storytelling, cooking meals and bringing beers is enough for them.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Norway, Serbia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Giovanni’s full profile.