Giovanni Bonvento Fidone's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 80% response rate
  • Last login 17 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Giovanni’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Sicilian, Spanish; learning Greek (modern)
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Medical Doctor
  • Università degli Studi di Torino, Torino, Italy Universi...
  • From Scicli, Ragusa, Italy
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

-- PEOPLE ESCAPING FROM WAR -- I CAN HOST UP TO TWO PEOPLE IN MY HOUSE. IF YOU ARE IN NEED JUST SEND ME A REQUEST --

CURRENT MISSION

Once upon a time a savy man, now a saint, said: "the world is a book and those who don't travel only read one page". So, my current mission is to read every single page of it!

ABOUT ME

I'm a young doctor from Sicily, the biggest island in Italy, but I lived in Torino, up North, from 2011 (when I moved there to attend University) to 2019. I consider Torino as my second home, despite being a cold city with a culture partly different from the one I grew up with in Sicily. I spent two semesters in Spain studying on an exchange programme (Erasmus) back in 2015/2016. I consider myself to be very easy going and curious about everything. Every time I travel I love trying new and strange things: while in Iceland, for example, I was more than happy to have the chance to try the "world famous rotten shark" (ok, I was about to throw up on that occasion but at least I had the guts to try it with a big smile on my face, watering it down with a shot of vodka). I speak English, Spanish and Italian and I understand written and spoken French. Most of the times I'm busy with my work (I work with prisoners at the local jail as a GP) but when I'm free I'm more than happy to host travellers.

UPDATE 2020/21
The Covid-19 pandemic hit me in the butt! I've spent the last year and a half working every day at the local hospital so I don't know if I will be able to host travellers until this nightmare is over: try to send me a request anyway!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I usually travel with my brother and some friends, mostly across Europe. You will meet them too if you stay at my place.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
I hosted some travellers a couple of times, I was hosted as well in some different countries and I joined many events in Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Chile, Finland, Bulgaria, Turkey and in the US (where I spent a month metting many families and friends in San Francisco and around thanks to CS!). I love this website as it can be used as a powerful tool to submerge yourself into the culture and lifestyle of the countries you visit! Considering that I'm allergic to mass-tourism, Couchsurfing helps me a lot to live as a local, enjoying the world from a different point of view every time I travel. Thanks to Couchsurfing, I now have a bunch of new friends scattered around the planet :)

Interests

Science, Medicine, Nature, Adventure...never mind if I have to sleep in tents without electricity and water, I'm always into camping in the wild!
Food, food, food...ok, I think this should be included in "being Italian": I'm obsessed with food and cuisines from all over the world.

  • culture
  • dining
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • camping
  • medicine
  • science
  • study abroad
  • tourism

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Trekking on one of the world's biggest glaciers in Iceland. Climbing up to the summit of Mt. Teide, Spain's highest mountain, to see the sunrise from the peak. Getting lost in a forest in Hokkaido, Japan, in the middle of a typhoon. Camping in Urho Kekkonen National Park, at the end of the world in the Arctic. Working in a farm for a month in the heart of the Californian wine country.
Visiting the whole of Gozo island, Malta, in just a day with an amazing host. Trying to find fuel in Sri Lanka during the worst crisis of all time.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share Italian and Sicilian culture at their best, I can teach you how to cook a wonderful plate of "spaghetti alla carbonara", or what about cooking a delicious "pizza Margherita"?? I like talking about everything and, generally speaking, I love sharing my life with my hosts and guests.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, Cuba, Italy, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Giovanni’s full profile.

My Groups