Gisela Janis

Stockholm, Stockholm, Sweden

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gisela’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Swedish; learning Sign Language - Swedish, Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Equal Opportunities Advocacy Secretary
  • Genderstudies, Men & masculinities, International migrati...
  • From Falun, Sweden
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Human Rights Activism


I am a queer activist by heart who loves new adventures, playing music and being creative.
I work at Stockholm University Student Union with equal opportunities, equality and issues of discrimination and with LGBTQ rights.

As a person I am very open and loving respecting other people. I am a good listener but I can also talk easily if needed! I always enjoy a good laugh :)
I am passionate for cooking and the pleasure of food and drinks. I have a huge interest for beer and I try new ones constantly trying to find the ultimate taste. I play guitar and sing in a little band and I have a cat called Kattla.

During the summers I live in a small Village called "Fågelsjö" (north part of Sweden) where I sell handcrafted tings and guide tourists at an old farm. I go canoeing and fishing almost every day there and I love the feeling of freedom that it brings. - this is the perfect place to come to if you're visiting Sweden during summer!

I travel quite often and I love experiencing new places and even better - new people. I am spontanuos so just give me a suggestion of fun happenings and I'd probably join imidietely. I am also very enthusiastic and I love coming up with ideas what to do and where to go!


deconstruct - rebuild.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Surfing and hosting.


I have had loads of people staying at my place due to work and activism and I usually crash on couches when I go abroad for conferences and such.
I have had a few couchsurfers the last year and I loved it.


Canoeing, fishing, theatres, movies, dressing up with different styles (ex. bowties, suits, dresses), pets, arts, plants (growing my own physalis right now!), digging into history, cross-country skiing, skiing downhills, iceskating, skating, working out, being handy, taking long and warm baths, deep discussions, necklesses & earrings, fancy checked shirts, writing lyrics, doing laundry (relaxing), all kinds of music,
LGBTQ-activism/rights, Human Rights, writing, cooking, movies, "Long-boarding", Social events, AND Beer!

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Pulp Fiction, Breakfast on pluto, Drive, Happy Feet, Shawshank Redemption, Millenium triology, Godfather, Fight club, Forrest gump, Le fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain, El laberinto del fauno, The pianist, Big fish, Kill bill, Pretty woman, The boat that rocked, Chicago, Trainspotting, Juno, V for Vendetta, Mulholland Drive, Shortbus, Seven Psychopaths.

Series: True Blood, Six feet under, Mad Men, L-word, Greys Anatomy, Friends, Family Guy.

Music: Fun. Boy, Mumford and Sons, Bob Dylan, Feist, Glen Hansard, P!nk, Adele, Ben Howard, The Tallest Man On Earth, Sia, Robyn, Kina Grannis, Asha Ali, Eminem, Rye Rye, Janelle Monáe, Coldplay, Sigur Ros, Neil Young, Nina Kinert, Ane Brun, Alicia Keys, Nick Drake, Missy Higgins, Erykah Badu, Antony & the Johnsons, Lauryn Hill, Tori Amos, Fink, Björk, Röyksopp, M.I.A, First Aid Kit, The Pogues.. (I do enjoy most music.. so just try me!)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Skiing in the mountains. (might be one of the best things to do in life)
- Canoeing in the middle of nowhere.

visited 27 states (12%)Create your own visited map of The World or Like this? try: Google Protocol

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you guitar. I can also teach you about beer, cooking and how to make the best smoothie! I can teach you to fish and how to "long-board".

I would love to learn how to breathe while playing didgeridoo. I would also like to learn how to snowboard and how to climb. Maybe I could practice my spanish also?

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Malta, Mauritius, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Gisela’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups