Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Charlie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 13 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 26, Other
  • Member since 2011
  • mostly unemployed, sometimes kitchen work
  • A-levels
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello, I'm Charlie :)
I'm not really living in one place anymore - generally hanging around west Europe though, sometimes traveling, sometimes visiting friends, sometimes settling somewhere for a little bit - although i would like to travel further afield soon.

Last summer and this summer (2016) I've been doing long summer bike touring with a group - I love it!

I'm quite adventurous and curious and up for new experiences. I feel like I am constantly learning/growing/changing and I like to be challenged/inspired and to think about things

I'm feminist and anti-capitalist and try and live life by my ideals. I am interested in more communal ways of living and other autonomous forms of living/living outside the capitalist system. I think its interesting how the personal and political interact and impact how we live.

Whats going on in my life right now...
My current aims are to go to more places!
To figure out a good balance of traveling, working and activism.
To cycle more.
To learn to live on less money.
Cos life is for learning, and not just for earning, right?

I'm also considering teaching english - either on a voluntary basis to migrants, or as a way of getting a little bit of money to sustain myself - so I'm interested to talk to other people about their experiences

I would also like to get a bike mechanic qualification but at the moment this is way too expensive for me - so if you feel like teaching me something, we could do an skill share and I could find something I could do for you.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm quite new to the couchsurfing experience! I have used it slightly when traveling with a friend - we stayed with a couchsurfer in austria and had a great time. I guess I've informally couchsurfed before by having passing travellers stay at my house, and stayed at friends or friends in various places.

I think I'm a good visitor - I like to share, to cook for others, to respect other people's boundaries, to informally hang out, drink coffee and share stories. I'm quite adaptable

Interests

feminism and anti-sexism, political activism, radical queer politics, anti-oppression and internationality

DIY living and travelling - doing it with less money, being creative, finding solutions, learning from others

cooking, hitch-hiking, dumpster diving/skipping, cycling, anarchism, reading, cats, vegetarianism/veganism, exploring

Bikes! - tell me all your bike touring stories!

like listening to peoples stories, and learning new things about the world

I like to be outdoors, I like cycle touring, and day walks and hiking. I like lakes and mountains.

I'm interesting in sustainability in practice and ways to living that have less negative impact on the environment.

at the moment I'm quite into the dynamics of communal living - I've almost always since I was 17 lived with large groups of people, its sometimes lots of work but I think living together is the best way to learn from each other.

Vegetarianism - I'm vegetarian, but also used to eating vegan a lot.

I like to discover new interests as I go along as well...

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - bit of everything, but generally end listening to cheesy pop!

Movies/TV - Buffy the vampire slayer - could probably never get bored of re-runs, Orphan Black is also an awesome series. I like to watch movies, but don't have a particular interest in them so can't really name any favorites right now..

Books - i love to read! Especially good story books! I especially love it if other people recommend me things..
recently read - the hunger games, year of the flood, the god of small things, kite runner, whipping girl
going to read - how nonviolence protects the state, the revolution starts at home

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

lots!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can fix bikes a little bit, especially the kind of fixing that involves improvisation and bashing away at things till they fit...
I can cook a bit
I can share conversations with people on gender/sexuality/anarchism and other political topics relating
give me long enough in any town and I will eventually find some dumpsters full of food to share!
I would love to learn more German if people are willing to have slow basic (and probably boring! ) conversations with me

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share stories on traveling on low budgets/almost nothing.

Yummy dumpstered food if it can be found!

If you grow vegetables or have a garden, I'm happy to help you dig.

If you need people to play board games with...

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Charlie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups