Logo orange

Gabor Marx

Budapest, Budapest, Hungary

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gabor's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 16 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Hungarian
  • 40, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • software engineer
  • university in Computer Science
  • From Budapest
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To see the world and to meet interesting people

ABOUT ME

I am really not a usual person. I held a lecture about prehistoric animals and plants around the age of 8 and I learned all the chemical elements (more than 100 of them) around that age. At that time I was very much oriented towards sciences, and from the age of 18, people and human sciences started to interest me very much. I was always very interested in learning more in many subjects and areas. In the recent years, I started traveling within Hungary, in the neighboring countries and to the rest of Europe. I plan to travel more, mostly to Europe, but later possibly to other continents as well. I would also be happy to show Budapest or Hungary to anyone who comes here.

I like to meet and talk to interesting people, and also people from other countries. That is also a way to practice English. I use English in my daily work and it is very good to practice English in non-work situations as well. I have passive skills in German, Dutch and Russian and I know a few Finnish words (I lived two years in Finland, I liked it).

I do not smoke and do not drink alcohol. Some of my physical characteristics: 190 cm tall, 76 kg heavy, brown eyes, brown, short hair. This means that it is probably easy to find me in a crowded place.

PHILOSOPHY

I would rather detail this when we meet.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I would like to surf and host. I also let my friends know that this project exists and they can join.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I was couch surfing a couple of times in my life - not through this project, but through friends or family members. It was definitely better than a hotel - I was not alone, I had good company. We even went to museums together, went shopping, had a dinner together, etc.
I have also hosted some people, not through this project, and I liked that too.

Interests

nature, hiking, traveling, museums, architecture, history, art history, environment, sciences, politics, languages, self-improvement, keeping in touch with friends all over the world

Music, Movies & Books

Currently I am reading non-fiction books - books I can learn from. I sometimes also read books in my profession.
I like sci-fi, adventure and documentary movies.
I like pleasant melodies and not some kind of "modern" music. I do not go to concerts and do not collect music, but when I hear good music in the radio, I do enjoy it.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

There are more than one, there are many. I can detail it when we meet.

Teach, Learn, Share

See my areas of interest - I could certainly learn more in any one of them, but also teach something to others.

Countries I've Visited

Czech Republic, France, Germany, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Finland, Hungary

Join Couchsurfing to see Gabor's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile