Gobi D's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gobi’s full profile.

Overview

  • 10 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Kannada, Tamil; learning Czech, French, Slovak, Ukrainian
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Web Apps, Web site Developer & Designer
  • B.E computer Science
  • From Bangalore, Karnataka, India
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

**Profile Introduction:**

Hello, I'm Gobi from Sri Lanka. I have a background in computer science and spent time studying in Bangalore, India. Currently, I reside in both Colombo and Batticaloa and work as an IT administrator, a freelancer specializing in Web Apps, Websites Development, Logo Designs, and Digital Marketing, and a part-time lecturer.

**About Hosting:**

I have a passion for making genuine, long-lasting friendships with people from abroad. I prefer guests who are looking for extended stays, as it's challenging to truly understand our culture and become real friends in just a day or a night. I believe that Couchsurfing is an amazing concept when you find genuine people to stay with for a real and immersive experience of Sri Lankan culture.

**Why Western Friends:**

I have a deep appreciation for Western culture and my dream is to live there. However, due to visa restrictions and my profession, it's not easy for me to make that move. Sri Lanka doesn't offer the opportunities I need as a software developer, although I do get projects from Europe. So, I'm keen on meeting Western people and building friendships.

**Accommodation Details:**

In Batticaloa, I can provide you with a safe place to stay in my home, where I live with my mom and two brothers. We can offer you traditional Sri Lankan food or allow you to use our kitchen. It's an ideal place for female solo travelers, and I've had positive feedback from previous guests. In Colombo, I live with my wife.

**A Note on Current Economic Situation:**

As of April 2022, Sri Lanka is facing an economic crisis, resulting in a significant increase in the prices of essential goods like petrol, gas, wheat flour, and rice. While I have never asked for money from guests before, I now request contributions to cover expenses related to these rising costs. I'm not seeking extra money, just help with these necessary expenses. Please understand the situation.

**Guest Experience:**

I want to clarify that before the recent economic crisis, I offered free accommodation and food to my guests, as several have previously appreciated and enjoyed their stay without any financial obligation.

**Misunderstanding and Last Feedback:**

It's important to note that the last guest who left negative feedback misunderstood my situation. During my hosting experience, I suffered a severe accident and was hospitalized, even spending time in a coma. While in recovery, I used a friend to accommodate the guest and cover their expenses. This demonstrates my dedication to hosting, even under challenging circumstances. I can provide medical records to prove my situation during that time.

**Additional Information:**

I'm well-versed in English, thanks to my education in Bangalore. I'm here to offer you a genuine experience of Sri Lankan culture and hospitality.

Feel free to contact me if you're interested in staying with me, and we can have a great time together.

Thank you for considering my offer!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To help / Making a friends from abroad / love / Etc.

Interests

Making Friends/ Roaming / Travelling / Adventure / Fun / long Drive / Music

  • photography
  • analog photography
  • dating
  • photograph
  • long drive
  • having fun
  • romantic
  • street photography
  • landscape photography
  • find new friends

Music, Movies, and Books

All kind of movies and music. If I feel good with them

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Waiting for that movement...

Teach, Learn, Share

I Teach IT(Information Technology / Programming languages / Graphic designing) courses. I have own software developing company (But think too big, Just Startup)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Room / Transport / Guide / Friendship / Love

Countries I’ve Visited

India

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, Sri Lanka

Join Couchsurfing to see Gobi’s full profile.