Goedele Vermeeren

Selfoss, South, Iceland

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Goedele’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, Icelandic
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Working as a volunteer in Sólheimar (Iceland)
  • Environmental science/engineering
  • From Mechelen, Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Surviving in Iceland


I'm an easygoing person, I usually adapt very easily to new circumstances or people. I am a bit introvert, but once I feel at ease I laugh a lot :)

I don't really like crowded places and lots of people, or big cities. I'm a nature person, I like being outdoors, I want to feel free :)


30% of life is happiness. 30% of life is sadness. The rest is what you make of it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


For now it will only be surfing, but when I have a place of my own I will start hosting (although that won't be anytime soon, I first want to travel some more!)


nature, hiking, doing outdoor things
the environment, sustainability, geology
music!!! (Pop/Rock)
going to bars and concerts
visiting museums
I love animals, especially horses and cats.
And I love reading

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies; a combination of fantasy, history, romance and drama (Lord of The rings, Braveheart, Legends of the fall,...)

Books; I read a lot (usually fantasy), and I want heavy books or series that take me a while to finish. (Earth's children, The Sword of thruth, game of thrones, eragon,...)

Music; Muse, Sigur Rós, Pearl Jam, Olafur Arnalds, Our Lady Peace, Fleet foxes, Mumford&Sons, Bon Iver, jeff Buckley, Vampire weekend,...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've been kayaking in Sweden for a week, it was a beautiful place and I will never forget it.
I've also been in the Faroe Islands and Iceland, both AMAZING places.

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn Icelandic and am interested in all things Icelandic :)
I can tell something about environmental stuff, since I've beens studying it for 5 years. Or we could just share random life stories :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Egypt, Faroe Islands, France, Iceland, Netherlands, Slovakia, Sweden, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Iceland

Join Couchsurfing to see Goedele’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups