Nicole and Darrin Phillips's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 17 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicole and Darrin’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 73 References 65 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 43, Other
  • Member since 2007
  • I stay home with the dog. Darrin works in computer aided...
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Always planning our next holiday. Must like dogs! Last minute requests usually aren't accepted, but you can give it a try tho, a sob story could work...


Planning Scotland for 2018 since we already did our 2017 holiday!


I love travel, and discussing all aspects of it with people - I guess it's my passion, now if I can just win the lotto, I can commit my life to seeing the world...sigh.

Also, !big annoying dog alert! Shadow, the brilliant lab mix dog! So, if you don't like dogs, look elsewhere...he is much better behaved now that he is 9+ yrs old. Shadow is pretty calm now - so he probably won't even jump up - he has to take it easy on the stairs, so I ask if he's upstairs when you are and comes down with you to please go slow since he's taken some spills. He will be your greeter, maybe even steal your socks if you leave your room door open, leading to a merry chase around the house.


Personal philosophy...hmmm...I just hope to meet people from all over, and just be able to share a little bit with them, and hopefully give them some good memories, good meals.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing



Have met some great people from all over the world - well, Europe, Canada, Australia and US, but still - want to meet more!
As of Dec 2014 hosted 50 folks and have been hosted 14+ times (thanks Ric- 3 times! And Lesley and Mike - 4 times)


Scrapbooking, travel, digital photography, surfing the net for travel ideas and planning our next vacation, usually months in advance. Cooking (always a good hobby).
1. Victoria Park - if you like the great outdoors and a leisurely walk thru the woods.
2. Tidal Bore - sorta cool - really good around full moon - higher tides. Also Tidal Bore rafting in Stewiacke (20 min drive)
3. Colchester Historical Museum - hmm, haven't been there for ages, but I'm sure it's still interesting.
Within driving distance - Pictou (30 min) - nice little town with ship Hector and a museum about the ship. Tatamagouche (35 min) - seen on CBC TV show - "The Week the Women Went". Joggins (60 min - or more - long time since I've been there) - the fossil cliffs! Shubenacadie Wildlife Park - 25min drive...Canadian wildlife, nice place.

  • dogs
  • wildlife
  • photography
  • cooking
  • tv
  • traveling
  • eating out
  • socializing
  • scrapbooking
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling

Music, Movies, and Books

U2!!!!!!!!!!Adele, canadian stuff(Tragically Hip, Our Lady Peace, The Trews, Matthew Good).
Love Dean Koontz, Stephen King, my hubby likes science fiction/fantasy. Movies -Bourne trilogy, Lord of the Rings, Matrix. Dark Knight, MARVEL movies. TV - love Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel (I know, not on anymore, but I can still love it). Arrested Development. Extras - Ricky Gervais - brilliant! Lately - Penny Dreadful, Game of Thrones, The Americans, Walking Dead, Amazing Race, Atlanta, The Knick, Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, Supernatural...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I LOVED Venice - been 4 times and I just think it's magical! And if in Rome, go to Appia Antica - so close yet such a diff setting. Also, climbed up Mt Vesuvius. (Does taking a header off a mtn bike in Switzerland count? I had amazing bruises!)

Teach, Learn, Share

visited 9 states (4%)Create your own visited map of The World

What I Can Share with Hosts

Hmm, hubby and I are pretty quiet - non-smokers and non-drinkers. We do love to chat, but don't expect you to spend all day showing us around - unless you want to! Been hosting and surfing since 2007, so we know how we like to be treated when hosting, and how we should act when being hosted!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicole and Darrin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups