Gorby Sivasothy's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gorby’s full profile.

Overview

  • 1 reference
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese, Portuguese, Spanish, Tamil
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Travel when I can but work in between
  • University of London
  • From London/Tokyo
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Currently living in Tokyo since 2019, but unfortunately likely to be leaving Japan in Feb 2021. Sad times. However I will be travelling from Kyushu up to Hokkaido from November to January so looking to make the most of my last few months and definitely up for meeting people en route and for you to show me your country!!

Giving up my apartment in November so unfortunately going to be hard pressed to be able to let anyone stay in the short term.

Love Japan massively, awesome country to live in and travel around.

Background
Went travelling in 09 and not looked back. I travel when I can where I can. Been somewhere like 50+ countries but need to travel around Africa more.

I´m fairly relaxed I don´t like to take myself too seriously, up for anything. Can be a "Yes man" at times which can either be excellent or a hindrance depending on the situation. ha.

Pretty open minded. Having travelled a fair bit, come across loads of different characters with different ways of thinking. Impartial to engaging in an intellectual debate, but can just as easily chat sh*t for hours on end.

I enjoy learning about different cultures, different people hence the travelling. Don't think you can really experience a place without getting to know the locals in one way or another.

PHILOSOPHY

`Vivo Libre´...in English `I live free´...well that´s the aim anyway

Making the most of whatever time I have available because I'll never get it back

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Looking to start-I've always ended up hosteling it but recently I've found more than ever having insider knowledge is the best way to travel so starting my couch surfing experience would be good (I joined in 2009-but never got round to using it).

Now that I'm travelling around Japan, will definitely be trying to use it on my travels and get to know people and the country more. Looking forward to it!!

Interests

Absolutely anything...well almost. My favourite thing is meeting new people on my travels-met a lot of 'interesting' characters along the way. Some are very close friends of mine even after 5+ years living all over the place.

Prefer getting to know a place through its locals because I don't think a guidebook ever really tells you anything about a place. Strong interest in LATAM having travelled there a lot and made some great friends along the way

Been playing Capoeira the last couple of years, still taking baby steps, but hope to get onto the flips at some stage! Also do a lot of other sports, Football, kickboxing (started sparring recently), squash, and enjoy watching a lot of others like Rugby etc.

Read extensively, with a wide range of topics. Need any recommendations let me kno!

  • photography
  • capoeira
  • beer
  • coach
  • reading
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • music
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • boxing
  • art
  • football
  • futsal
  • kickboxing
  • debate

Music, Movies, and Books

My music taste is eclectic to say the least...but you'll normally find me listening to hip hop, reggae, rock and lots of Latin music (reggaeton, salsa, bachata, Latin ska).

For films i´m easy...my favourite films vary from Gladiator, Training Day, Good Will Hunting. Spanish films such as Amores Perros, and if you have a dark sense of humour Relatos Salvajes (Wild Tales). Korean cinema is also excellent. Highly recommend a film called 'Intimate strangers' which I believe is based on an Italian film called 'Perfect strangers'.

Books Diverse: Sapiens, Shantaram, Scar Tissue, La casa de los espiritus, 100 years of solitude, Norwegian Wood

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Volunteered in Colombia in 2009, single best three weeks of travelling I've ever done. Went back to visit and stay with the familia in 2015 and seeing the kids we used to look after. Somehow some still remembered me.

Climbing Mount Kilimanjaro-unfortunately there was a blizzard at the top so we didn't see anything until on the way down, but when it cleared on the way down the view was unreal.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: I coach(ed) kids in football (i.e. soccer) so I guess I could teach anyone! and a whole load of stuff about London.

Learn: learning Spanish with the intention of moving to Latin America in the future. Failed, and ended up in Japan instead. Looking to finally learn to play the guitar that I picked up in Colombia in 2009.

Learning about different cultures (obviously)

Currently the guitar but failing miserably

What I Can Share with Hosts

I've travelled a lot so always willing to share info tips and DEFINITELY over a beer.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Mexico, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Tanzania, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Gorby’s full profile.

My Groups