Grace Abrahams's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Grace’s full profile.


  • 20 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Community Manager at an Education Nonprofit
  • University of St Andrews, Scotland (Philosophy)
  • From London, England, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

My husband Marc (aka Elias) and I live in Philadelphia in the USA. We previously lived in New Orleans. Marc's from Philadelphia and I'm originally from the UK.

I am open-minded, friendly and enthusiastic. Couchsurfing is my favourite way to experience new places, as I love to see what a host thinks is the most exciting part of their city, enjoy everyday life in a new place, and learn about other cultures.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've been incredibly lucky to have some wonderful couchsurfing experiences, including staying in a cave in the desert in Jordan with lovely Bedouin people, visiting Petra, and spending new year with a wonderful new friend in Lebanon. I also loved staying in "casa couch" with our fantastic host Pedro and lots of other wonderful couchsurfers, in Cusco (Peru)!

My husband is newer to couchsurfing and we hosted several people in our house in New Orleans together, where we where he loved getting to know new people and showing them our city! We also stayed with a lovely family in Alabama! We both enjoy how you never know what topic of conversation will come up, or what we will have in common with people from very different backgrounds.


Currently my favourite activities are listening to live jazz, cooking, painting/ drawing, cycling, board games, and learning Spanish (I'm a beginner). I also like indoor rock climbing. I'm pretty much always up for new experiences!

Marc loves reading, writing, playing drums, playing backgammon, and learning about entirely new topics.

  • sketching
  • vegan
  • drawing
  • live music
  • cycling
  • rock climbing
  • vegan cooking
  • jazz music
  • nature walks
  • life drawing
  • linocut

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I love to listen to live jazz, so I usually go to a few places nearby and just listen to whoever is playing. Check out Preservation Hall if you're in New Orleans, and Neutral Ground Coffeehouse 8pm-midnight on Sunday nights for open mic night. In Philadelphia, check out Time jazz club.

Books: Recently I enjoyed Celeste Ng's "Everything I never told you", and "Girl, Woman Other" by Bernardine Evaristo

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My friend Freddie and I cycled nearly 900 miles from the top of Scotland to the bottom of England! It was exhausting, but nothing is more satisfying than relaxing in a new town or city after having cycled 70miles to get there. It was a wonderful way to appreciate the landscapes and people all around my country.

I love this community but I've been getting a lot of requests recently, and some of them don't seem to have read my profile. Please include the word "tofu" in your request and I'll be a lot more likely to host you :) thanks!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Cycle adventures, interest in new experiences, stories, curiosity, vegan food (or I'll just pack some snacks and you can eat whatever you like!)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Peru, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Grace’s full profile.

My Groups