Grace & Lukas's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 10% response rate
  • Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Grace &’s full profile.

Overview

  • 78 references 68 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Hebrew (modern), Swiss German; learning French, Hebrew (modern)
  • 37, Other
  • Member since 2012
  • nurse (Grace), social worker (Lukas)
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT US

Well, what is there to tell?

We are a married couple. Lukas (33) and Grace (30). Lukas is Swiss and Grace is Israeli (and American by birth).
We met while volunteering at a hostel on the red sea, and the rest is history :)

Traveling is our number one hobby/obsession...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We love hosting people in our guest room and giving them some inside knowledge into Swiss culture. On a good day we'll spoil visitors with Swiss raclette / fondue or grilling at the Rhein river. We also enjoy showing off our quite small but charming city, or just talking to you about nothing or anything. A few drinks together are always on the menu :-)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We joined CS before our first trip to Iceland as poor students, who were quite shocked by the dorm-room rates in Icelandic hostels. One of our Icelandic hosts became an inspiration to us of what CS is all about. We've been hosting ever since. We love this community and all the amazing people we met through it!
We're super privileged to have a very affordable apartment at an awesome location so we decided we would love to give something back to the community, and we're so glad we made that decision. How else could you meet some of the coolest people from all over the world without even stepping out of your door?

Interests

  • books
  • street art
  • photography
  • diy
  • traveling
  • food

Music, Movies, and Books

Bon Iver, U2, The Cranberries, Bruce Springsteen, Coldplay

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Traveling to Iceland and Myanmar!! Volunteering at an orphanage in Kenya and working for Save a Child's Heart organization.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Hospitality, conversations, great meals, travel stories, our home, and a Basel city walking tour.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, England, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kosovo, Laos, Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Palestine, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, San Marino, Scotland, Serbia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Israel, Kenya, Switzerland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Grace &’s full profile.

My Groups