Logo orange

Hung Nguyen

Durham, NC, United States

Accepting Guests

23% response rate · Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hung's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 68 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Vietnamese; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Student
  • Biomedical Engineering
  • From Hue, Vietnam
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Learn Arabic

ABOUT ME

I'm currently a grad student who's striving to balance my life as a researcher and a traveller. I like doing research, and really hope that some day I can invent something that can benefit the medical field and save the lives of other people. But I also don't want to spend 12 months/year sitting on the lab bench. I'd love to be on a get-away trip every year to expand my knowledge of the world, make friends from different places, and learn about different cultures.

PHILOSOPHY

Winners make their own luck

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Couchsurfing had given me the best memories during my 6 months in Europe. Some CSers have become my best friends.
I also met up with several CSers while they're visiting my hometown Hue.
Since I came to Durham, I have had the chance to meet great CSers around the RTP, thanks to the potluck events!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Surfed my way through my time in Europe and it changed my life. I couldn't travel without CS since then, travelling and making new CS friends have become almost inseparable.
Since I have moved to this new place with my two CS flatmates, we have been lucky enough to host awesome CSers from New Zealand, Poland, Sweden, Canada, France, China, England, Vietnam, and all over the US. We're always open to hosting more!

Interests

Football (and for people in the US: soccer) is the only sport that I dedicate most of my leisure time outdoor on. I play both field football, futsal, and freestyle football.
I love music, but do not limit myself within some certain genres. Music is the only thing that can keep me awake when I'm tired (well, even coffee can't help, i promise :|). Recently I started learning ukulele but I can hardly live any day without it now. This baby is gonna travel the world with me in years to come!

Besides, I am also interested in photography, and reading books though most of the books I've ever read were either my thick textbooks or mangas =)) But trust me, I do read, and enjoy some fictions.. :P

And of course, I love travelling, learning new languages, and meeting people from different cultures. Listening to their stories, hearing about their cultures, having them teach me some songs in their own languages...you name it!

But there are also many simple little things that could make me feel happy. I love to smile to kids, to receive their pure and innocent smiles back, or simply their clueless and curious looks.
I hate to see farewell tears from other people, but thinking about it warms my heart cause I know I belong to some part in their hearts.
I love to walk along a narrow cobble-stoned street in the early morning when everybody is still struggling with the sun rays through their windows.
I like sitting on a bus or train and gazing out the window, eyes slowly losing focus and unknowingly, I start to see the world with my mind and thoughts.
I love to fall asleep to the sound of raindrops splashing on the ground and against the window. It rained a lot in my hometown, as I grew up. As a kid, I spent many nights lying on my grandpa's hammock staring up at the stars in almost perfect darkness. Then street lamps came to the neighborhood, and took away that piece of my childhood. Really miss that sometimes.

And this quote from Freya Stark: To awaken quite alone in a strange town is one of the pleasantest sensations in the world.

Music, Movies & Books

Books: "The kite runner", "Love in the time of cholera", "One hundred years of solitude"

Movies: the Schindler's list, Amélie, Into the wild, District 9, To kill a mockingbird, Forrest Gump, Che!, Godfather series, Toy Story 3, Up!, the last king of Scotland, Hotel Rwanda, Blood diamond, Before sunrise, Les Choristes, Happy feet, Ratatouille. I also love documentaries, especially anything with David Attenborough narrating.

Shows: Friends, Big bang theory, Modern family, How I met your mother, Two and a half men, Game of Thrones, Spartacus, Prison break, Community, Arrested development, Breaking bad

Music: anything, especially the indie/singer-songwriter lately. Just listing out some of my Pandora stations: Don Omar, Prince Royce, The A Team, Of Monsters and Men, Timbaland, Coeur de pirate, the Fray, Cold Play, Claude deBussy, Clair de lune, Lily Allen, Chopin, Muse, Alejandro Sanz, Ingrid Michaelson, Paolo Nutini, Ellie Goulding, Jack Johnson, Noah and the Whale, etc.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

=Ever seen:= 25-05-2005, Istanbul, Euro Champion League final between Liverpool-AC Milan. The 6 magical minutes that helped Liverpool equalize 3-3, it's just so hard to believe. Not to mention I'm a Liverpool fan though ;) (anyway, I watched the match in TV, wish I could be in Istanbul at that time though :( ).
=Ever done:= Saturday, 07-07-2007, I set my new juggling record of 777 :D My lucky number is 7, btw :P

=Amazing thing I have always done:= Enter a shop along a shopping street for 2 minutes, get out, and have no freaking clue which direction I came from :)) I have a terrific sense of orientation.

Teach, Learn, Share

The reason why I'm still a student now is probably because I enjoy learning (not studying though...), pretty much about anything new: ancient civilization, human evolution, astronomy, art, architectural styles, cultures,...And I'm really desperate to learn new languages! Also I love to learn any musical instrument! If you are a ukulele expert, that would be wonderful! And would love to hear photography advice from the pros!

I can teach you Vietnamese language if you like (good news: we use Latin characters as well, so don't be worried about learning a completely new writing system as Chinese or Arabic ;)). Well, if you like football, I can teach you some juggling skills (but to be frank, I'm not an expert as all the freestylers out there :().
And of course, I can talk to you about biology, genetics, and my research if you're interested by any chance, or just want to fall asleep quickly.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Netherlands, Poland, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, Singapore, United States, Viet Nam

Join Couchsurfing to see Hung's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile