Thomas Hill

Bergen, Hordaland, Norway

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Thomas’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Dutch, English, Norwegian; learning French, Icelandic, Japanese
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Student
  • MA
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Since I was a small boy I haved loved travelling and have always been drawn to foreign contries, cultures, food and languages. I am passionate about the whole intercontinental travel experience, including the time I spend at each airport, studying the aircrafts, reading the flight schedules, in-flight meals and airline design. Flying is a very special occasion.

I am half Australian but raised in Norway and always lived here. Lived in Amsterdam for a year as well and will definitely live in Sydney at some point in the next couple of years.

I'm an MA and lecturer in comparative literature the the University of Bergen would love to become a professor and a writer. Classical literature is just one of my interests though. I really love languages, in particularly Icelandic and Japanese. Gaming (Nintendo) interests me a lot, also cinema (not only art house, but also horror and sci-fi) and philosophy (I'm a humble disciple of Henri Bergson).

I am gay but I don't identify much with the social stereotype - I just want to mention it so I'm obviously not interested in staying with (or hosting) any fascists or narrow-minded people.


Devout Bergonist.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'm a very calm and careful person, sometimes shy and always trying to take good care of my friends, family and guests. I like going out for beers or staying home to watch a movie, but with guests I always make sure they feel they are getting the most out of their time, since it is limited, so I will always respect your wishes.


Hosted a couple of times, surfed in Bath, London, Tokyo and New York.



Music, Movies, and Books

Currently reading:
Virginia Woolf - The Voyage Out
Alfred Kubin - The Other Side
Aldous Huxley - Island

Planning to get into:


Current favorite directors:
Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Lynne Ramsay, Peter Greenaway, Terrence Malick, Atom Egoyan

Some favorite movies:
Upstream Color, Black Swan, Paranoid Park, The New World, The Tulse Luper Suitcases, Morvern Callar, The Thin Red Line, The Hours, Blow-Up, The Clan of the Cave Bear, Koyaanisqatsi, Spirited Away, Cremaster 3, Beyond Clueless, The Tree of Life

Some favorite artists:
Ryan Trecartin, Bill Viola, Omer Fast

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Was cleansed in the blue lagoons of Iceland. Had a three course dinner in complete darkness in a restaurant in Berlin. Saw Bangkok from The Vertigo Bar on the roof of the tallest building in Thailand. Flew first class with Qantas from Bangkok to London. Went diving in the Great Barrier Reef. Walked through the forest in the Blue Mountains of Katoomba, Australia. Lived and studied in the heart of Amsterdam for ten months. Had lunch, dinner and karaoke with japanese friends in Tokyo. Had several spectacular new year's eve celebrations in the city center of Sydney. Spent a hot, sunny day in Central Park, NY with friends.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teaching and learning are the two things I will never ever be able to stop doing. I'll gladly teach you some Norwegian and would be happy if you want to teach me some of your language. I'll introduce you to my favorite movies, music and books if you're interested.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, China, England, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Serbia, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Netherlands, Norway

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Thomas’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups