Matthew Greenspan

Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, French, Italian, Spanish; learning Portuguese
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Currently tennis and english teacher
  • Spanish, French and Italian literature in several univers...
  • From Toronto
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me


Finding out the steps I need to take in order to reach my full potential....


I am a traveller who is ready for anything. From sleeping in 5 star hotels to car parking lots I have done it all. I have seen alot of Italy and a little of Spain, but am slowly making my way around it. I am a die hard tennis player and fan and would love to see all tournaments in europe and hopefully someday work for the ATP. I love nature from mountains to beaches and am open to meet all types of people.


My personal philosphy is that almost everything you do in life positive or negative will come back to you in some form or another. Since living in Europe I have treated and been treated so well by people that I just met. Europe is full of passionate people who like to help and me being a young canadian traveller full of energy and passion have been welcomed into many different societies. I also believe in striving for your goals and following your gut instict. This has put me in a lot of good situations. I belive in luck but more so in putting yourself in lucky situations.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have just started my account and still do not know how I can participate! I am starting by letting people stay at my house!


I remember in Italy when I met a a woman at an art show. I was flying out of Milan and was planing on sleeping at the airport. She offered me a couch to sleep on and I took her up on the offer. It helped me out greatly as I had to rearange all my luggage before getting on the plane. A year later my friend told me about couch surfing and I was very excited about it. Now I can help other people who are travellers like me.


Chronic tennis tournaments, Moutain biking, Skiing, Running, Surfing, Reading, Partying and watching a good flick.

Music, Movies, and Books

Pulp Fiction, Godfather I,II, Taxi Driver, Clockwork Orange, Casino and Goodfellas.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Il Palio in Siena. This is a medieval horse race in one of the nicest piazzas in Italy. A square with 50, 000 people all quiet waiting for a group of horses without sadles to make 3 laps around a track. High tension and huge action. The dinner before when I was at the main table driking from a 10L bottle of Chianti Classico(local wine) was a big highlight!

Teach, Learn, Share

Travelling I have learned that you cannot trust everyone but using your instincts and feeling out people will go a long way. Its hard to explain but would be easier if I explain it in person when we meet.

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups