Greg Mathieson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Greg’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Rope Access / NDT Technician
  • No education listed
  • From Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

Born in Aberdeen, Scotland and lived here most of my life except for spells in Lafayette, Louisiana (USA); Brownsville, Texas (USA); Dubai (UAE) and Edinburgh (Scotland) whilst growing up and the latter as an adult. I've also spent a few months in Uganda teaching and looking after kids in an orphanage.

I've seen a few parts of the world (never enough however!) and my goal is to see it all and then go back to my favourite places again! Always up for meeting new friends and absorbing as much local culture as possible.

I have been in a relationship since 2012 with my girlfriend Robyn, a care worker for people with Autism. She and I are very keen on travelling and constantly broadening our horizons and we travel together. Whilst we do enjoy a sun holiday and we always make sure to go to a country we've never been to before, our next target is backpacking around Europe as wide as the compass will take us.

Over time Robyn wishes to one day travel the United States, whilst I wish to do the Mongol Rally, Hopefully tour Japan with a band (as it's the only way to not get completely destroyed financially) and spend some time in India.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on crowdsurfing for two reasons. One of them entirely selfish. Touring the world is expensive. However my main reason is having a local point of contact that could become a friend. Someone who I can absorb the local cultures from and tell them all about my culture if they're interested. It's always nice to meet new people and share in their experiences.

Interests

I run a gig promotion company putting on punk rock gigs in Scotland. I also sometimes run a record label and I write my own fanzine as well. Im also currently considering compiling a few video documentaries in various forms.

  • culture
  • documentaries
  • cooking
  • running
  • traveling
  • backpacking

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite genre of music is Punk (mostly Crust, Street, Queercore) but all other sub genres as well. I've also been known to listen to Metal and Mod Anthems. I try to read as much as possible and my favourites genres of movies are Sci Fi Alien invasions.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My knowledge and everything I have found about different places in the world. If I know something you seek I will share my knowledge. I am also a not bad cook, so no reason why we can't cook each other our local dish for dinner!

Countries I’ve Visited

Denmark, Egypt, England, France, Greece, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Scotland, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, Uganda, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Scotland, United Arab Emirates, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Greg’s full profile. It’s free!