Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gilvan’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 5 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese; learning Spanish
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Demographer - Research Associate
  • PhD in Economics Demography
  • From Teofilo Otoni
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


Contribute to the understanding of the mechanisms for poverty alleviation among families in rural areas of developing countries.


I've finished my PhD in Economics Demography and starting working as research associate at Brown University. I like talking, learning new culture, traveling, nice people around me. I particularly appreciate honesty and people who really like to do good!


Do to others what you would like to be done to you!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've already had experiences hosting people in my place, but just stayed once in a person's place. My first experience couchsurfing another person's house was awsome and the outcome is still to be done (we can make some new friends and learn a lot, though about it?). I also met friends for coffee and ended up meeting a wonderful person, smart and funny, in Bloomington, IN. I expect to host some folks in Providence!


I've already hosted 5 people at home. 2 Brazilians, 2 Americans and 1 Italian. They were great with me and made me feel useful! As a guest, I surfed an American's couch (Raina's, in Providence, RI) and met two other Americans, so far (Al in Providence, RI, and Bradley in Bloomington, IN)


Culture, idioms, trips, wine, statistics, economics, demography, environmental issues, organic food.

  • culture
  • dining
  • wine
  • coffee
  • organic food
  • traveling
  • economics
  • science
  • statistics

Music, Movies, and Books

Early music, blues, jazz, bossa nova, samba.

Teach, Learn, Share

I speak English and Portuguese and understand a little bit of Economics, Demography and Statistics. I'd love to learn German and French and more about medical science.

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, Morocco, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Gilvan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups