George Fforde's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 26 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see George’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 17 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Russian, Swedish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • I enjoy hanging out with friends and going to cinema like...
  • An alternative hippy high-school. BA(Hons) in Politics an...
  • From Melbourne: (the bottom-right of Terra Australis)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To find the source of denial


My name's George and I'm a Euroholic
The background of my family and early life is slightly chequered, but Melbourne is my home and I consider myself Australian. I am very tall and people sometimes tell me I look intimidating, but like most creatures from down-under, I'm likely to be more afraid of you than you are of me (except for koalas of course- they're savage vermin and will eat your face off as quick as looking at you!). I would prefer to let anybody who is kind enough to host me draw their own conclusions about my character, but if I had to I'd quickly say that there's two sides of me, a bookish nerdy one who prefers elm-trees, Bach and pipes, and a flamboyant one with a questionable predilection for musicals, grappa, Oscar Wilde, pipes and bollywood. When I'm travelling I tend to be more interested in the people than the scenery, and try and see every new meeting as a point of divergence in one's own life. I relish cultural difference and am eager to to enjoy and learn from people any background- so long as they're not left-handed...


The best life is about finding happiness without actually looking for it- and if you see a stranger running past you on a pavement, chase them.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Surfing mostly, but my girlfriend and I also host in Vienna. It is her flat so you should look at her profile :).


I have couchsurfed throughout my travels in Germany and Austria. From my very first experience in March of this year, each one has been rewarding and uniquely interesting whether it staying with a host for over a week, a night, 'emergency couchsurfing' (these guys are heroes) or having a drink. I am so grateful to each of you.


"Voici Georges Fforde. Il aime:"

'Culcha!' I love History, and places where people know their history. I love theatre, particularly seeing stories, characters and ideas through different languages and cultures, I do quite a bit of acting and general prancing around in Melbourne.
British comedy, particularly Monty Python, Peter Cooke and Dudley Moore, Mitchell and Webb, A Bit Of Fry and Laurie.
Language(s), I'm very interested in comparative linguistics, both the philosophical and finicky sides of it, I love encountering 'untranslatable words' and idioms in languages.
Politics (to a civilised degree), Board Games.
Riding (horses) and walking (feet), my main exercise comes from cycling. I like to cycle long-distance to get to places. So far I've gotten from Berlin to Vienna, and from Hamburg to the northern tip of Denmark. Right now I'm planning Krakow-Vienna.

  • horses
  • acting
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • exercise
  • running
  • walking
  • drinking
  • politics
  • board games
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • fencing
  • history
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite authors are J.R.R Tolkien, Joseph Heller, Evelyn Waugh, Aldous Huxley, Peter Carey, John Fowles, Kim Stanley Robinson, Mervyn Peake, George R.R. Martin and George MacDonald Fraser. I read widely but very slowly and I love traditional prose, as well as science fiction from the 70s/60s/50s and Magic Realism.

I like listening to chamber music loudly from a good sound system. I prefer classical and baroque generally, and composers beginning with a 'B' in particular. Other 'bands' -as I believe they are dubbed by the youth nowadays- I esteem would be Pink Floyd, the Beatles, the Cure, Pink Floyd, the Tiger Lillies, the Fratellis, Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band, the Knife, Depeche Mode, Blondie, et others.... Eclectic taste, anything I can jump up and down to really

You know what, I'm not going to bother saying anything about my taste in films. I saw a film once. Or it may have been a book that someone threw at me, I get so confused...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I once found five dollars. True story!

Teach, Learn, Share

What I want to learn: how to dance properly, how to play a musical instrument.
What I could teach (maybe): Unicycling, basic fencing, a damn good Gollum impersonation and hopefully laughter.
I love cooking with people! to say 'you never truly know someone until you cook (with) them' may be taking it too far, but it's still one of the best ways of getting to know someone I think. Not that I'm the best cook though- more funny to watch!

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, New Caledonia, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Austria, Estonia, Germany, Norway, Russian Federation, Singapore, Viet Nam

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see George’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups