Logo orange

Jon and Laura Grundy

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jon and Laura's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 32 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German
  • 30, Other
  • Member since 2009
  • Laura - physicist/student, Jon - IT
  • BSc, PGCert in nanotechnology
  • From Bowral, NSW, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Explore our new home town of Melbourne

ABOUT ME

***||| Please read! |||***
We understand that finding a host in Melbourne can be hard, but please avoid sending requests only a few days out from your expected arrival.
We are unlikely to host you if your arrival date is within 1 week of the request or if you ask to stay for more than 2-3 nights.
We are much more likely to host you if you send a request with at least two weeks notice and it is not a generic copy/paste request! :)

Remember that Couch Surfing is not just about free accommodation, so requests that just talk about how hard it is to find a host/hostel are not going to be accepted.
***||| Please read! |||***

Jon and I are a young married couple, who are both friendly, easy going people who love travel and meeting new people. We don't smoke, we drink lots of tea, love food, good company and making the most of life! Back in late 2010 we took 3 months off work for a trip around Europe and miss traveling since being back! You can see our route and a few pics at http://mapvivo.com/journey/11055Back home we play lots of sports and go to the gym. Jon is a semi-professional photographer outside of his 9-5 IT job. :) Laura speaks some German, having lived in Germany for 3 months. Jon completed a few years of French in school, but is very rusty! However, we love trying to learn new languages wherever we travel, or from whoever we meet.
Jon is now learning German too, so any practice there will help. ;)

PHILOSOPHY

Have no regrets!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We have hosted many Couch Surfers since late 2009 and have enjoyed every experience!
We have hosted a lot of 'new' surfers and have made sure they feel welcome and 'at home' when staying with us.
We also had the chance to stay with a few CSers over in Europe who we had previously hosted - great fun!
We believe that CS is a great way to meet new people and new cultures, but we also believe that it is not simply a service for 'free accommodation'.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We have hosted many young and old, new and experienced Couch Surfers, and have met up again with many of the surfers we have hosted during our latest trip to Europe.

We've gained a lot of great friends from the experience and will be keeping in touch with them!

Interests

Sports, photography, fishing, hiking, cycling, cooking & eating food, wine, languages, music, science...
We love learning about anything and everything!

Music, Movies & Books

Music - electronica, classical, Irish folkMovies - anything with a decent plot, and epic sci-fi films Books - Jon reads fantasy novels...Laura likes sci-fi fantasy and historical or people based novels.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Tsukiji fish market in Tokyo was unforgettable, with the best sushi we've ever tasted!
Hiking on glaciers in Norway and through gorges in Slovenia also rate pretty highly.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach - how to cook Pavlova (delicious Aussie dessert), fishing, netball, Aussie slang...and lots more :)Learn - languages, cooking, anything and everything you have to offer... If you can teach me to surf (waves, not couches), you get bonus points. No, not all Australians live at the beach and know how to surf!

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Japan, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Jon and Laura's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile