Janos Kozma's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Janos’s full profile.

Overview

  • 9 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hungarian, Norwegian Bokmål; learning German
  • 40, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Warehouse worker
  • Electronic Engineer
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

2020 update: in recent years (well, since 2014-15) I started running. ...a lot! ...and by now it has become more than a hobby, it defines me. I run. That is what I want to be better at, that is what I want to do even more of. The road was bumpy, and I am still just at the beginning, but hell, it is worth it. I am more than happy to tell you more if/when we meet. In a nutshell: I run any race from 5k to 200+ km, on road or on trail. I also run for fun, obviously, and like to run challenging routes of both my imagination and existing ones. In terms of results, I am the front-of-the-middle-of-the-pack guy, so I am no elite, but despite that, I had a few first places, notably among them the 2 person relay on the UltraBalaton, of 221km in total.

..oh, yeah, and one more thing: I am farming insects now :D ...come visit me, and you get to taste them! :)

This was my profile below many years ago now:

You may wish to take a look at my albums at facebook: www.facebook.com/gsc398

I am often quiet and lost in my own mind, but equally easily I often find myself to be at the centre of attention. I can talk and I can be funny, but not always, of course.

I am in absolute love with the mountains, and with Germany. Other than these, I am also in love with historic cars. Not all cars, just some. But those I love dearly.

I am environmentally considerate, often obsessively, but with exceptions. I travel on my bike mostly everywhere. Walking is also my friend. I do not like to waste anything and today's world makes my stomach turn. :-(

...and my hobby is electronics. ...also I bake my own bread :D

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It is an exciting, friendly and very natural way to find shelter when you are away from home. That is what I think....

Interests

Mountains, mountains, mountains. Especially the South German and Tirol Apls, and of course all of Norway :) .

...and cars. Old cars, American muscle cars.

......and electronics. I am fascinated by it.

2020 addition: and running, obviously. Electronics is kind of in the past now. Still love it, but don't do it anymore.

  • walking
  • electronics
  • traveling
  • cars
  • cycling
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Terminator and many-many books. It would be great to be able to talk to people about the books I have read.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Amazing is a very strong word. I have done lots of things that most people don't or wouldn't, such as cycling across Europe and, well, I found many of these superb and excellent, amazing would be to walk on Mars, or something, so I don't know... ...in any case I have many interesting and unusual stories from my life. ;)

Teach, Learn, Share

I am happy to teach and curious to learn more electronics and programming.

I would love to learn about berries, edible plants and whatever out there in nature.

My German is very rusty by now, I could do with some practice! At the same time I have my Norwegian to practice, so that I would be happy to do! I can help you practice your English, or Hungarian.

(2020 note: I no longer learn Norwegian, while I will never be native, I use it daily.)

What I Can Share with Hosts

My stories, my experience, a lot of science from nutrition to running and injury. ;)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Hungary, Netherlands, Norway, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Janos’s full profile.