Thomas Gegenhuber's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Thomas’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 9 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Thomas: Student (business administration and socio-econom...
  • Thomas: I´m studying; Melanie: University (Philosophy, Ar...
  • From Linz, Austria
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Melanie and I (Thomas) want to explore north america and meet new people

ABOUT ME

Thomas: i am very open minded and love to explore the world. What is great about travelling is the possiblity to meet new people. I am a social person, i like to go out, listen to music and concerts and enjoy the nature. Besides exploring the "real world" by travelling, I enjoy discovering the "world of ideas" by reading and writing.

Melanie: I like to meet new people, but it need a little bit to open up. I love to read books, quality newspapers & magazines and I am interested in art. Sundays I enjoy long-breakfasts and chill in the hammock on my balcony. I discovered my love for travelling and I enjoy the nature - i have a dog and a horse and sometimes all four (with thomas) go for a walk. On the weekends - I go out with my friends and I like to dance and make party.

PHILOSOPHY

Thomas: "To get to know, to absorb as much of this world in the short time I live"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Thomas: When I was in Toronto I brought a lot of people together. We all had awesome experience. Getting to know knew people gives people energy (and me too:).

Melanie: I´ve heard a lot of good stuff about the CS project. I do not have any experience yet, but I want to contribute to the idea of meeting awesome people around the world.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Thomas: I participated in CS Meetings in Toronto and met many awesome people there. So far I haven´t couch surfed and I was not able to let someone couch surf at my place (due to being out of town, now I moved in with my girlfriend and the appartment is too small for hosting) I hope to gain more CS experience, and as soon, as we have a bigger appartment, we (Thomas & Melanie) hope to host a lot of travellers.

Interests

Music. "Music is my sanctuary, music is my soul" this refrain I remember from a song. I like all kinds of good music.

I started with rockmusic, then i´ve become detached to smooth electronic music like kruder&dorfmeister. I like hip-hop, soul, classical music, funk but but most favourite is listening to jazz and world music.

Books. "Reading is adventure in your brain". Reading books help me to explore new worlds, new ways and can give knowledge that I need.

Enjoy nature. "This corner of the earth, is like me in many ways" I like going outside or hiking. Especially I love autumn, because in this time the nature so colourful.

Melanie: Leos (young lions club), "Kollektiv Gleichgültig (group of young theology students who organize discussion which deal with the subject of woman in science), Music, reading, running, bike-riding (I did triathlons), walk with the dog, cooking, dance, hanging out with friends.

  • dogs
  • arts
  • writing
  • books
  • concerts
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • marathon
  • running
  • partying
  • clubbing
  • news
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • classical music
  • electronic music
  • jazz
  • world music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • sports
  • divinity
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Thomas:
Music: There is no note like blute note: Blue Note Trip(s), Astrud Gilberto, Yann Thiersen, Thievery Corporation, Quantic, Everclear,...

Movies: I do fancy more TV Series than Movies. What I´m fond of: Scrubs, Malcolm in the middle, The West Wing, Dr. House, Weeds, Heroes and of course the Simpsons.

Books: Mostly academic stuff or pop-literature.
I read a lot of newspapers so that I know what is going on in the world.
And of course i love contemporary theatre and arts.

Melanie:
Music: House, music that moves the legs or the heart, or just intelligent music - so i am open to rock, alternative, other elecronic stuff and classical music

books: charles taylor, dan brown, simon beckett, ...

movies: inglorious basterds, vicky christina barcelona, life of david gale, rocky horror picture show, ....

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Thomas: Sunset on the CN Tower....awesome!
Melanie: did a half-marathon (21,6 km) in the time limit i set for myself

Teach, Learn, Share

Thomas: What can I share:
- stuff related to my study program and academic work: Open Gov Principles, Crowdsourcing, Organizational behavior and structure
- stuff related to my work experiences: how to make a campaign, how to produce a news paper, how to make a successful party, how to organize a rally
- and I love to play games: e.g risk or UNO :)

Melaine: how to ride a horse, how to start doing sport in the right way (like running), theology for starters,

Countries I’ve Visited

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Cuba, France, Germany, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Canada

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    4 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Thomas’s full profile. It’s free!