Guilherme Prado de Abreu's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Guilherme’s full profile.


  • 4 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Portuguese; learning English, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Mechanical Engineer
  • Bachelor
  • From Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi, my name is Guilherme, but you can call me Gui.
I'm a 26 years old guy born in Rio de Janeiro and raised in Cabo Frio, a beautiful city in the coast of Rio de Janeiro's state. Since I was 17 I've lived in Niteroi, where I graduated in mechanical engineering.

I'm about to start a trip through South America and I'm looking forward to knowing more about latin cultures and people. Travelling around the continent is an old dream that finally is coming true (it was once interrupted by chilean Puyehue volcano eruption in 2011) and I am very excited this moment has arrived.

Sharing spaces is something I'm used to since I was 16, when me and my family started hosting foreign students in our home for Rotary Club. I also lived for a couple of months in London in 2012, hosted by a family while I studied to improve my english.

So, I am a calm, easy going person who enjoys challenges and to learn and teach new activities, and that's part of what expect by throwing myself into this new experience!

"The most dangerous risk of all: the risk of spending your life not doing what you want on the bet you can buy yourself the freedom to do it later." Randy Komisar

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To become a couchsurfer might be a great part of the experience of knowing our world. Hosting can be as fun and rich as surfing since we can meet new people and talk about their culture, hobbies, homeplaces, other destinations or histories. Sharing experiences may be the richest part of the process of knowing the world!

I started hosting exchange students with my family years ago and it was a great experience. For one year we hosted 4 students from Europe and 1 from Mexico, which broght to us new languages, new sounds, different cultures, food tastes and much more.

I really want to start hosting people again in my place to keep on with this great experience, but unfortunetly I live now with my grandparents and unknown people would make them feel unconfortable. Still, now that I finnished university I'm looking forward to moving soon and be able to host people again.

I think the main reason I enjoy so much is the possibility to learn from and teach to people skills and knowledge about cultures. Brazil is so big that we have a lot of regional cultures and gastronomy and I'm fascinated to know about all of this stuff. And of course, staying with locals makes everything much easier and enjoyable.


Get in touch with people from all over, travel as much as I can, learn a new language and improve my english (I don't speak fluently as I wanted and I hope hosting can also help me with it), know a new music, listen to or tell about a fun history.
Talk about carrer, study, plans, dreams. Play some music, I know something on a acoustic guitar, hope you can sing!
I'd gladly introduce my friends to you while drinking something at a bar, which is one of the things I like the most to do.

  • culture
  • beer
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • music
  • jazz
  • guitar
  • blues
  • engineering
  • history
  • nature
  • wanderlust
  • trekking

Music, Movies, and Books

I've been listening to a certain kind of jazz (I don't know exactly the name of the genre). Few bands I've enjoyed are The Shaolin Afronauts, Bixiga 70, Nomade Orquestra and Fat Freddy's Drop.
Other artists I like are SRV, Eric Clapton, Robert Johnson, Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin, B.B King.

Right now I'm reading The Pleasure of Finding Things Out, by Richard Feynman.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

You cannot say you've lived your life fully if you haven't done PARACHUTING!
Don't think, just GO!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach a bit of music on a acoustic guitar and something about night sky photography.
I'd like to learn how to use Photoshop and to cook local foods :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Chile, France, Portugal, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Guilherme’s full profile.