Guillaume Emont's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 18 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Guillaume’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 4 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning German
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Freeing the world, one piece of software at a time.
  • Was partying most of the time. Apparently they gave me a ...
  • From Mulhouse, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Discover the world and learn from it.


I am a rather calm person who is passionate about certain things, and remain quite tolerant on everything else.
I think of myself as open minded and curious. I might be a bit shy at first, but I am quite happy to meet people and learn from them, just come talk to me!
I enjoy travelling and discovering new things and new cultures. I am also very happy to share a good meal and/or a few good beverages with old and new friends.


Be the change you want to see in the world.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've regularly surfed friends coaches and hosted friends for ages. I have not done so through couchsurfing so far, though I have twice hosted newly met people from Nowhere (a burning man-like event).
I am looking forward to getting more couchsurfing experience!


I am new to the site.
Though maybe I can speak of surfing a friend's coach in Rio de Janeiro. It was an awesome experience living at the rhythm of the locals and discovering what a typical routine can be there (I was working almost everyday, going to a coworking space). I could feel like I belonged to that gorgeous city.


I am passionate about freedom and technology. That means I am involved, both professionally and personally in Free Software (some call it Open Source Software). This is my way of having a positive contribution to the world, and allows me to be part of an awesome community.
I also enjoy travelling, hiking, various sports (skiing, basket ball, hand ball, volley ball).
I have a tendency to go on crazy projects that mix technology with the real world. Such as flying a helium balloon 100m high to take aerial pictures and then make a time lapse movie of it. Or building an interactive installation where a laser beam draws your silhouette live as you dance in front of a screen. I find that to be a fun way of learning a lot of things.
I also like a very good meal and occasionally to cook things (I am specialised in cutting onions and aubergines, and you can make a great pasta sauce with these and some other things).
I also enjoy good beer and good wine, though I wouldn't claim to be very knowledgeable about them.

  • dancing
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • running
  • coach
  • flying
  • electronics
  • technology
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • sports
  • history
  • languages
  • science
  • software

Music, Movies, and Books

Films: The Big Lebowski. Rock and Rolla. L'Auberge Espagnole. Le Dîner de Cons. The Usual Suspects. Some like it hot. 12 Angry Men. A lot of things, especially if it's funny or clever or both.
Music: a lot of metal things (from Led Zeppelin to Machine Head, from Dream Theater to Nine Inch Nails), some rock things (REM, Eeels, Noir Désir, ...), some jazzy things, reggae things, and many more things, depending on my mood and alcohol level.
Books: I enjoy a lot of different things. Lately, my favourites might be Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett. But I can enjoy totally different things if it's well written, I've recently enjoyed a lot some books of Carlos Ruiz Zafón.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiking 500+ km on the "Camino de Santiago" (path of Saint James, along the northern coast of Spain).
Going to Nowhere (the "european burning man") and running fun projects there.

Teach, Learn, Share

Learning about almost anything is one of my favourite occupation. I'm that kind of people who would look up something real quick on wikipedia after dinner, and still be browsing through it at 4am when I realise it might be time to go to bed.

Most of the things I know well are related to computers, and more generally to science.

I don't necessarily know much in the field, but I like languages. I can chat in French, English and Spanish, and have some vague nonworking notions of German and Mandarin Chinese. I can probably understand some Catalan or some Portuguese as well.
I find the history of languages and their evolution fascinating.

I also wish I knew more about electronics.

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, Canada, Ecuador, Ireland, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Guillaume’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups