Guillermo MacLaughlin's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Guillermo’s full profile.


  • 33 references 20 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Danish, Greek (modern), Russian
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Software - Digital Marketing
  • Electronical Engineering - University Degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

As probably everyone else here, I love travelling, and I feel my will to travel to be a second skin.

I feel it's a blessing that our planet is so vast and has so many different places and cultures; life could be so boring otherwise. Living life to the fullest is one of my goals, and getting an insight on how other people live is an important component in such plan.

I love learning new things and meeting new people; I cherish the sensation of being in someone else's shoes, at least for some seconds. I also like giving people an honest and balanced account of my country and my background when they are interested in it. I feel such exchange, when it happens, to be enriching, but it should be natural and not forced.

I like to define myself as a fun person, who is always looking for the odd and funny side of things. I can be a serious person, but I like to take things on the light side and not take myself too seriously. I love being with people with a witty sense of humor.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I started with CS when traveling with friends who were already experienced surfers. They asked for a host and I joined during the stay. Those experiences were exciting, so I started using CS myself.

Since 2015 I have met up while traveling, met up travelers coming to my city, and hosted travelers as well. In my home country people tend to be very sociable and gather a lot in homes; my home was very frequently a venue for meetings. However, after moving abroad to a new country, it is not that common to gather at someone's place, so hosting people is a way of making my apartment feel less empty.

Many experiences in CS where quite interesting and fulfilling; I still keep in touch with many other surfers today.


History, languages, gastronomy and cooking, sailing and kayaking.

Tasting any worthwhile beer, wine or happy beverage while having an interesting conversation.

Learning any skill that would not be common in my home country.

Taking pictures that will excite me for a lifetime.

Current hobbies: homebrewing (making beer @ home) and sailing, whenever the weather allows.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: a broad array of interests, with focus in 70s progressive rock, 80s pop/rock and 21st century electronic music. Pink Floyd, Roxette, Fleetwood Mac, U2, Icehouse are among my favorite oldies; Zero 7, Daft Punk, Air and David Guetta are my favorites from this century. I can even enjoy other styles like Blondie, Kylie Minogue and Katy Perry. From non-English-speaking artists, I enjoy among others Soda Stereo, Vilma Palma, Shlomo Artzi and Serebro.

Movies: Apollo 13, Wild Tales, The Big Lebowski, Django Unchained, Amélie, Ostrov, Borat/Brüno, Team America, Sunset Boulevard, Mad Max, City Lights, The Man from Earth, Festen, Lord of the Rings, Vodka Lemon, The Wind that Shakes the Barley, The Godfather, Waltz with Bashir, The Death of Stalin, and even Movie 43 and The Room.

Books: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Animal Farm, 1984, Shackleton's South.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Staying 2 weeks in Greece, in very contrasting settings: 1 week in the party-loving environment of the Greek islands, and then 1 week in the ascetic, monastic atmosphere of Mount Athos. A very enriching experience indeed.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to learn languages, new cooking recipes, and historical facts that are not well known.

I can teach Spanish, homebrewing (making beer at home), and the beginner steps of Tango dance.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Armenia, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Chile, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, San Marino, Scotland, Spain, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Denmark, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Guillermo’s full profile.