Izmir, Izmir, Turkey

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 13 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see GURKAN’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Textile- Marketing &Production(Working with Spain)
  • Msc at Textile Engineering- Ege University-Izmir-Turkey
  • From 100% Izmir-Turkey ( most civilized, open minded city of Turkey)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Exploring different world cultures, having new friends , making every step to live the moment &enjoy life


I was born, raised and lived all the time in İzmir. I'm looking at the past, and as a little summary I have been in international working areas since I was 19..Worked in international fairs as an interpreter, and started to have a lot of contacts, friends all around the world..After working at Camp America organisation at 2000 in U.S. my world and view changed. I can consider myself as a flexible and open-minded guy and easy to contact..just live and see for your self.:)


I am eager to learn and search for new things and educate myself , meeting new people at anytime..I think there is no limit about it. There is a reason why we are living this life in this world. Life has a rythm and we need to keep up with it and have the best fun we can.Why wait.??

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I want participate as a traveler and also want to share a room of my flat..


According to Facebook .I have seen 8% of the world but up to now I didn't have any couchsurfing experience but just have heard the website, its concept and popularity from my friends and jumped in..


Apart from traveling (especially for work), I like cycling and have been making long tours around the city for more than a year,I like snorkelling and diving. I love sea, and can't live without it..also I like to play my acoustical guitar, have a brand new vinyl collection around 50-60 pcs..and yes music is the expression of my life like everyone..I love music...I can cook as well, especially pizza is my favourite..with beer or wine it becomes more perfect..I like to drink with my friends as well :).

Music, Movies, and Books

My Favourite movies; Pedro Almodovar movies (ex.Amorres y Perros)also Crush, Before Sunrise,The Schindler's List,Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind,Shawshank Redemption..Two and a half Men & Seinfeild are my milestones for TV series..I like especially Rock,my favourite bands; Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple, Pearl Jam, Guns'n Roses, Metallica, Foo Fighters,The Black Keys, RHCP, Bueno Vista Social Club, The Doors, Alice in Chains, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds,David Bowie, The Tea Party, and nowadays Mando Diao etc. My favourite books are One Hundred Years Of Solitude (G.G.Marquez) ;Alchemist;La Samarcande;léon l'africain; Kite Runner, Dan Brown series

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

First time I have been to U.S. at 2000, the twin towers were the highest buildings I have ever seen and I was impressed. The Panorama of New York from Empire State Building, Ufizzi Galery of Florence-Italy, Venice, The Cathedral & Beer (Kölsch) of Cologne-Germany, The big castle walls of Knights at Rhodes-Greece are some of the places..My second city is Barcelona..I know almost every detail of Barcelona and I adore the city and its architecture..Once I had worked as the interpreter of world famous tenor Jose Carreras in a international music festival in İzmir in 2002 ,which was a privelege. The craziest thing I have ever done was living in a camp and taking care of 7-10 year of needy children for 3 months in USA and also once I pedalled for 120 kms in the same days and couldn't pull my self together for 3 days :)).

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to make pizza and some more meals from Turkish Cuisine.I am considered as a good cook ;). We can also visit some ancient sites, around the city as long as I have time from work. I want to improve my Spanish which I still have been learning, also want to learn more about World..I am eager to learn as I wrote before..I can share my knowledge of Music ,Turkish country and its culture and Life itself :)).

Countries I’ve Visited

Germany, Greece, Italy, Kosovo, Macedonia, Netherlands, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see GURKAN’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups